Sort:  

There doesn't appear to be a simple answer to this question. I went into this research thinking that the more people searched (especially online) for information the less likely they were to vaccinate (because of all the anti-vaccination misinformation that I kept hearing about). This appears to be the case some of the time but majority of people are searching and then vaccinating so it might actually be the case that looking for more information is beneficial for uptake (maybe reassuring doubts or even change minds) therefore maybe we should have more faith in people's ability to do their own research. That said each decision around each vaccine appears to be different, and also people background and previously held beliefs feed into it a lot, so a lot left still to unpack!

The exception seems to be childhood vaccination (though only one study shows this and its not statistically significant). Perhaps anti-vax propaganda is most prevalent around childhood vaccines as opposed to HPV or other vaccines.

Great article @nonzerosum. Sometimes talking (or writing) about research is the best way to see it clearly. I agree you need a strong conclusion to end on, but your data up to this point is intriguing. Two other things that occur to me:

  • You may state it clearly in the paper, but the total accept/reject statistics is something a reviewer might ask for. It can get tossed in the supplemental as its not critical to the big picture

  • Your figures are well designed and clear. That's better than most reviews so good job on that :)

Hi @tking77798, thank you for getting in touch and for your very kind words! Yes perhaps however the HPV has really been targeted heavily by these groups so I’m cautious to run with that theory (although don’t as of yet have another to take its place right now).

the total accept/reject statistics is something a reviewer might ask for

Yes I do have a habit of getting bogged down in the theory side and forget the very practical aspects such as this. I’m willing to bet this’ll be a comment if I don’t include it somewhere, thanks for the reminder!

Am I right in thinking you’re an academic too? Most of your post are likely wildly away from my discipline but we should talk GMO’s at some point. Lots of overlap with the hesitancy we experience with vaccines.

Well, I used to be an academic. After I got my PhD in Biochemistry, I sold my soul and became an industry research scientist. Steemit is a great valve for scratching that academic itch though.

I'm thinking of writing another GMO post, but I've just got to find the right angle. I'm open to suggestions if you have any.

Good luck with this review and getting your PhD!

Thank you for the nice reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63214.03
ETH 3274.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86