You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Indoor air pollution - how bad is it really? And what you can do about it

in #science6 years ago

Good post @amritadeva. I live in China and it's really important for me to maintain a healthy environment indoors. I do have an air purifier, but I find it does not reduce the amount of dust that develops over time on the floor. However, I have noticed that my sleep has improved as I don't wake up with such dry eyes and throat as before. Unfortunately, it is becoming an issue again because the central heating has been turned on and that really dries out the room.

Do you know of any natural humidifiers? I have a humidifier to ease the dryness in my room, but I don't like filling it up with water every day and it also leaves a white dust residue everywhere.

Thanks

Sort:  

Thanks for commenting! I'm not an expert on air purifiers, so I wouldn't know to advise you on that. But if you're looking for natural humidifiers, it is again plants that can do the trick! Just like humans, plants 'sweat' - throughout the day, they transport water from the roots into their leaves and through tiny pores, they release the water to the air. But then again, if the humidity is very low in your apartment, plants might not grow so happily there either. So improve humidity by ventilation, be moderate with your use of central heating. Maybe choose to let your clothing air dry in your home after doing laundry? And then pick your plants who don't require highest humidity levels, but that will add to naturally balancing your indoor air! Good luck this winter!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63316.73
ETH 3077.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87