You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Epidiolex - The next step for medical Cannabis

in #science6 years ago (edited)

@suesa, I'm curious to know if you see the trend toward legalising recreational marijuana causing problems for for medical cannabis research in the future.

Right now, there is a lot of "hype" about medical marijuana. I'm a person who doesn't believe in bull-shitting, regardless of the potential upside. If I went around saying things I don't believe just because I think it'd be convenient if people believed them, you might hear things like this:

  • I have spoken directly with what the religions of the world generally refer to as God, and It said everyone's cool, so y'all can stop worrying about killing each other now.
  • I have undeniable proof that every single leader of the so-called "free world" is a lizard person; naturally, this means we should all rise up together and abolish government through peaceful collective action.
  • I have insider information that STEEM will trade at $687 by the end of 2020 and if it doesn't, I will eat my antennae on national television.

What I'm getting at is that the medicinal significance of cannabis, while definitely credible in certain situations (and we should keep looking for them!), is way overblown, and I think it's that way because people are looking for a reason-- any reason-- to legalise it. It's an agenda I support, but it is an agenda nonetheless.

I think a lot of the funding and outreach and hype and other societal "support" for these medical research initiatives is going to dry up once everyone can smoke weed whenever they want. The motive just won't be there anymore (and not just because everyone is stoned, either).

This isn't to say that I think weed should not be legal. I'm sure you know me better than that at this point :)

Sort:  

I agree, it's actually something I considered adding to the post and then didn't. While there are certainly people who push for it because of the medical possibilities, the majority likely just wants to smoke.

This could even have other consequences: interactions with other medication is likely. And if everyone is smoking, the actual pharmaceuticals might be much less effective for those people.

I don't really care what drugs people take, as long as others don't feel the consequences (I hate smoking with a burning passion), but yes, the support for medical cannabis is likely not happening because of the healing potential.

Hey @lemony-cricket
Here's a tip for your valuable feedback! @Utopian-io loves and incentivises informative comments.

Contributing on Utopian
Learn how to contribute on our website.

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89