You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Double-Blind Violins: Towards A More Objective Selection

in #science7 years ago

I am really amazed by these blind tests. Professionals should get a feeling of all of this... they should... and they actually don't. That chocked me a little bit.

Very nice post by the way, also on the violin 101 part and the new technology part :)

Sort:  

The more devoid of critical thinking and appealing to expertise on a particular field, the more one should expect conflicts of interests will be a problem to innovation and truth.

I mean, I'm not 100% happy with the idea of machines making me obsolete, but such is technology.

Thanks for passing by to read :)

What do you mean by "machines"? Are you referring to machine-driven selection tests? I am a bit lost within our current context :)

Anyways. Machines are not making us obsolete. They will change our way of making things instead, I guess.

I mean Oracle systems. One probable consequence of double-blind tests effectiveness, if it were to become an extended practice, is automation of the process. This entails a lot of problems:

  1. Creating markets in sectors like science research
  2. Lowering the criteria for skill level of the judges
  3. Black box results

I will explain this in depth in my next post. "A forensic approach to cheaters."

Thanks for the clarifications. I am looking forward to read the next post.

Concerning item 1, I guess we are already there, unfortunately :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 70992.50
ETH 3860.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52