You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rivers of Molten Stone: Flood Basalts

in #science6 years ago

This was really a nice post. I didn't know about all of this. Naively enough, I had never heard about mantle plumes and the fact that this volcanism was the most common one. For some reason, I have always mentally associated volcanism with tectonic plates.

Sort:  

Tectonic volcanism is definitely more common on Earth- it's just in the solar system at large that mantle plume hot spot volcanism is more common. But yeah, mantle plumes have only fairly recently started to percolate out of the depths of geological thinking and into the education system and the public view.

Thanks for the repetition (repetition is always good) :)

I agree that at some point, what is thought at schools (high-schools?) should be adapted to the most recent findings. This happens, at the end of the day, but the process is super slow.

I think, sadly, it has as much to do with how often schools can afford new textbooks as anything.

I agree. "Super slow" may be in fact "mega slow" :/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63687.39
ETH 3309.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93