You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Particles and quantum fields for laymen (and thus Steemians)

in #science7 years ago

Well. I've read some here and there over the years and this is a good general discussion!

The book that really tuned me into this field of physics was Gary Zukav's The Dancing Wu Li Masters. I ran into it in the early 1980s.

He used metaphors from the Huayen school of Buddhism, Fazang's treatise on The Golden Lion. Being interested in all things "eastern" I liked the way it helped me follow the intricacies of the particles seeing this branch of physics like a dance.

Sort:  

I am not too sure about what to answer, as I have not read that book (and I have not the time to do it at the moment, unfortunately).

I am not so sure we can relate how particles behave to dancing, but if you connect the dance to the mathematics that lie behind, why not (as I said, I haven't read the book) :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 69718.75
ETH 3706.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.26