You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mad Cow Disease: What Causes It?

in #science5 years ago (edited)

Great read. I have not kept up with prion research in a long while. I read years back that perhaps a transmissible compound was guiding the proteins to misfold. I wonder if the Spiroplasmas create a metabolite that causes this to happen. CryoEM would be a great tool for researching this problem BTW. Have you come across anyone using this tool in your searches?

Sort:  

Thanks for the compliment! I worked hard and loved every minute of it. I think I would have been happy in a life of research... learning that a little late:)

One of the leading researchers in this area is Frank O. Bastion...here's an interview (date?) in which he discusses the evolution of his thinking and his work. And here's an article that describes the use of CryoEM, in relation to prion research but not spiroplasmas.

A fascinating line of research, isn't i? I appreciate your reading, and your feedback!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61821.21
ETH 3068.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84