You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Rivers of Molten Stone: Flood Basalts

in #science6 years ago

Wonderful post @mountainwashere. I didn't know about the basalt flows up there, but down here in California we have some nice ones too. Along the 395 (my user name) you can see several basalt deposits, most famously in Mammoth at the Devil's Postpile. Gotta love geology!

Sort:  

Heck yeah! Any columnar basalts? For all that I'm really a sedimentary fan, columnar basalts are my favorite.

Yup, that's Devil's Postpile. There are also some further north off HWY 108 that you can walk up to. I have some pictures I took of those somewhere.

There is also "Fossil Falls" right off 395 which is the area I was thinking of when I thought of basalt flows. The whole area has dramatic outcroppings. https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fossil_Falls

I'm not a geologist, scientist or academic, I just appreciate geology and collect minerals. I need to write about some fantastic things in California that the majority of people don't know about. Thanks for the inspiration. Followed.

I'd definitely love to see that! You should also consider tagging it geology- I'm doing my best to grow that tag further.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63687.39
ETH 3309.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93