Starting with philosophy

in #science6 years ago



Introduction

Before six years and after university graduation and two years of work experience, I started to feel empty inside. There is nothing new I'm learning and all my work is kind of a daily routine. I felt my brain just stopped receiving new valuable information and that made me frustrated.

I started to plan for a learning process for myself, because I always knew that I'd never get enough from education and I'd always be hungry for more information. I didn't know where to start, I was kind of lost. Then I decided to start from ZERO.

Zero Level Science

What will be the first step in this high and advance tech? I remembered Socrates, Plato and other ancient philosophers who put the grounds for logic which is the first step toward science.
I bought my first philosophy book: "The Republic" for Plato. I have to confess that it was not as easy as I thought. Yes, it was written long time ago! But that didn't mean it must be easy for a 21 century man to fully understand the contents. I enjoyed several chapters and I have to admit that it pushed me toward philosophy, and I knew I missed a lot. It was a bad decision to start with The Republic. But that challenged me to read more!

Book 1 and The Reference

I bought a book that seemed to be very informative and full of Infographics. "The Philosophy Book: Big Ideas Simply Explained "


Book1

This book is my guide in philosophy. I've been using it for 5 years. Whenever I find a philosophical idea (whether new or old), I go back to this book to find the concept and the roots of this idea, and simply explained!
But this is just a reference for me, although I encourage people to read at least the first two chapters of it to understand philosophy and its importance. So if this is only a reference, where is my Book 1?

Jostein Gaarder was very successful in his book "Sophie's World". With a well-written story, he could explain very big and real ideas! Just assume that you are "Sophie" in the book, and you will learn a lot !


Book2

Those two books were the first step for me towards understanding the world, initially from my perspective, and from different various perspectives afterwords. I didn't know that philosophy will change me a lot. Not only my personality was changed, But every aspect in my life was changing. My brain is now more open as well as my eyes!
Then I started to read a lot in philosophy and in physics. I didn't know that physics is full of philosophy, and it relies on it whenever the brain reaches the limits.
A Brief History of Time, Time Reborn, The Edge of the Universe, 40 rules of love, and more..
A small collection of books that enlightened me and gave me the ability to change and to hope.

So, big thanks for all the Authors who change the world by their pens!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61673.68
ETH 2904.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63