My Computer - Stephen Hawking.....

in #science6 years ago

March 14 - In addition to the birth anniversary of Pi Day and Einstein. So it was a festive day for anyone who had been a scientist for so long. But this year this year, we went to the non-returning country, one of our theoretical physicists Stephen Hawking. When the name was heard, the very familiar thoughtful man, who was sitting in a computer-related wheelchair, was unmanned. He is not just a popular scientist, he is the inspiration for any other person- The ultimate physical obstacle could not be able to suppress its talent and success.
With the help of technology-technology, this great man of the past has faced his difficult reality, let's hear about him today in his own words: -

Intel Corporation has been the sole responsibility of my computer-based communications system since 1997. A tablet computer is placed in the handle of my wheelchair. Wheel-chair batteries provide computer power. Besides, if the tablet has its own internal battery, then it can also keep the computer active.My interfaces with computers are mainly ACAT (Assistive Context-Aware Toolkit), with the help of an open source program created by Intel. When a software keyboard comes to the screen, a cursor automatically starts to scan the keyboard, along with the column. I can stop the cursor in the moment by moving the cheek and select a specific character of the keyboard.My cheek movement was detected by an ambulatory switch attached to the glasses. And this switch is my only interface with the computer. ACAT has an algorithm attached to 'swiftkey', it is able to guess the sound using my books and lectures. So I do not usually need to type the whole word, if the first few letters are written, the desired word comes up. Thus, by writing a whole sentence I send it to my speech synthesizer.My cheek movement was detected by an ambulatory switch attached to the glasses. And this switch is my only interface with the computer.I used a different hardware synthesizer to make Speech Plus. That's the best I've ever heard. Although it gives different regionalizations such as Scandinavian, American and Scottish.besides , I can control the Windows mouse with ACAT. It helps me run the whole computer. I checked the email with Microsoft Outlook, browse the internet with Firefox, lecture notes in Microsoft Word. I have a webcam on my current computer given Intel, so using Skype I keep in touch with friends.Those who know me very well, they can express themselves with just the face expression.

Moreover, I can lecture also. Already write the lecture and save it to disk. Then use the 'lecture manager' tool on ACAT software, it sends a full paragraph of my lecture to the speech synthesizer together.
It works quite like that. In this I can practice, if I am wrong then I can fix it before lecture.I'm looking forward to the latest technology. In the meantime, communication with the computer has been experienced in the use of vision controlled and brain-controlled interfaces. However, they did a lot of good work for many, but I did not get enough. The cheek-controlled switch seems to me a lot of trouble and I still feel comfortable with it.

  • Authored

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69746.86
ETH 3747.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80