Some pattern that I used to know

in #science6 years ago

I think it is funny when I come across numbers like this as they always give me some kind of feeling of comfort and I wait for the numbers on the odometer to click over to something even or, patterned. I think it is something human in us to look for repetition in our world as it allows us to create heuristics to reduce mental energy consumption. This is probably why identifying patterns comes with some kind of reward system. These become the habits that we use to direct our action.

11111.PNG

Essentially, the brain is super lazy and it looks to cut corners in anyway possible. It is probably why people like short-form posts so much as they think they get what they need without having to go into the detail but, without spending the conscious energy to go deeper, the brain will switch off.

When we come across something new, the brain activity spikes as it tries to evaluate whether it is a threat or not, necessary or not, useful or not and this spike consumes higher amounts of energy. If the new stimulus is deemed important enough to focus on, the brain function stays high which is why tough mental work can leave one feeling physically drained, even if that is not the actual case.

However, when the brain recognizes what it sees as familiar, it almost instantly accepts it, applies the heuristic and without further investigation, shuts itself off. The brain activity when it identifies 'familiar', looks something like this:

It is pretty easy to observe if you think about walking down the street and seeing someone you might know. Your brain will work through a process until it says, it is or, it isn't them. Let's say it is them and you call out and start up a conversation. Once the brain has made the decision it is them, it doesn't keep repeating the question throughout the conversation to make sure it is still them. It works on an assumption, a heuristic.

This was definitely observable to me at university because I was a business student yet, my older brother (who doesn't look much like me at all really) was an engineering student. People would come up to me and ask about this and that for some physics class and to him ask about some management lecture. Because many did not realize we were both at the school, they worked under the assumption that it must be the right person. We all look the same right? By the way, rather than correcting the mistake, we would both attempt to answer the queries. ;)

So, the brain spikes when it sees new information, gets rewarded in some way when it recognizes a pattern and switches off if that pattern is identified as safe to ignore or if there is a heuristic that can be applied. Regardless of whether the evaluation is correct or not, the brain can shut off and stop paying attention. Magicians can use this to trick an audience into not paying attention to what is really going on.

This is of course the problem with heuristics as if they are not evaluated often enough, it is possible that in time what they were created for is no longer being satisfied but, the habit is so strong that there is not the mental energy getting applied to pay attention to it. Kind of like those people who had a very fashionable mullet hair style in 1984... and still have it.

As said, the human brain is monumentally lazy of it is allowed to be and to get it to work anywhere close to its potential means that conscious effort needs to be applied to make sure that thinking habits are for the better, not the worse. When I see patterns come up like my post count today, I use the satisfying feeling as a reminder that my brain is trying to be lazy.

I also apply this when I come across information that I read and agree with but haven't rad fully as it is essentially my brain saying, hey, you already know that, so don't bother. That is not a great process especially when so much of our life is curated by people who may have very different agendas to our own. They feed us what they want us to hear over and over until it becomes a familiar sound we identify with, we know, we recognize and, our brain shuts off.

I guess the moral of the story is that when the brain is thinking fast and recognizing what it sees as a pattern, it is good to slow it down a little and be sure that what it has evaluated as familiar, is familiar enough to use the heuristic on. Our future actions depend on it.

Taraz
[ a Steem original ]

Sort:  

11111 reminds me of 31. A good age, in binary 😎

Way, too long ago to remember ;)

If you were a car you would be well overdue for a service. That is a hell of a lot of writing and some achievement. have you broken it down? Roughly 18 months. More than 600 posts a month. That is someone who is seriously busy.

@abh12345 gave a figure the other day of about 1,700,000 words. ~1.3M in posts, ~0.4M in comments. 100,000 words is a 400 page novel so, in word count I have written ~17 fat novels. :D

Shit. That is 1 novel a month give or take. And you have job as well. Talk about burning the candle at both ends.

Talk about burning the candle at both ends.

I have half a post about this in draft with an image in mind of a dynamite stick with two fuses instead ;)

A Taraz suicide bomb?

I do this all the time. Certain numbers really speak to me lol. Brain hacks are awsome. Yes i read the whole post lol.

I have always enjoyed observing what is going on in my world and my own reactions to it. A few years ago I read, Thinking fast and slow and said, doesn't everyone know most of this already? Knowing and doing are of course separate functions though ;)

Lol, so true. I have practiced buddhism etc and alot of it is actually a scientific method for understanding our inner workings. And just like you said knowing and doing haha.

Do you and your brother at least look similar? I'm imagining Arnie & Danny DeVito in twins.

Actually, it was a bit like that because he was/is a pretty muscly dude and I was skinny aF with illness. We wouldn't get confused in a line up.

I wonder if this goes someway to explain the 'getting older' thing, as not being attentive to 'the in things'.

One example is my attention on music today, is almost non existent after listening to music intently for decades.

When I hear music today - new music - it's not so much that it doesn't 'have something', so much as the something it has, is 'a something' I have heard already in older music, so it doesn't hold my attention....

Just one example, but no reason for it not to run across a wide range of subjects...

...Interesting post.

It is possible that it has something to do with it and could be part of the explanation of the speed at which the brain grows from 0-3 and then slows incredibly. At that age, everything is new and their are no heuristics. Of course, it doesn't quite work this way but it must have some effect on our learning abilities as the most intelligent are also usually the most curious which would mean they are continually sticking their noses into what they don't know.

IMAG0247.JPG

Yeah it makes perfect sense. But i dont think there is any need doubting the decisions of the brain. If it says something is familiar, its better to leave it at that, since it saves the brain some stress.
By the way, remember the brain is more calculative, intelligent, deep, complex, perfect, and acurate than even the most advance computer ever created. So i don't see any need doubting its judgements.

By the way, remember the brain is more calculative, intelligent, deep, complex, perfect, and acurate than even the most advance computer ever created. So i don't see any need doubting its judgements.

Mental judgements have also led to wars, atomic bombs, biological weapons, racism, slavery, economic oppression, genocide, repression of technologies...

I choose to doubt.

Yeah thats a good point you've made. The brain is most times subjective, bias and emotional.

Similar to Taoist philosophy of "We Wu Wei" or doing not doing.

That is so true.. It is in human genes that we look for things to do which are easy.. Looking for symmetry.. Looking for patterns to make brain make less effort... Thanks for the enlightenment..

I like your way of always using analogies and everyday examples to talk about deep themes in your posts, @tarazkp. The brain is a complex organ that needs to exercise continuously, like any muscle we need to develop. It is said that even if not challenged, it can atrophy. The danger lies in staying in a familiar and familiar stadium, easy. I imagine that part of the political discourses, for example, play with this theory: they give the people what they want to hear and in the easiest way, something they don't think much about. Nice Sunday

It is very interesting to see that there are these techniques or methods to have a wider knowledge about things and know what to do at the right time, the Heuristic can be used at any time in our lives in some cases can be positive or negative I I really apply it in some cases but we need to have a broader knowledge about everything

This makes perfect sense. My brain seems to shut down a lot when I am reading fiction. This totally explains why. It sees it as old information and, therefore less valuable. If I am reading something factual I am always able to pay attention and follow what I am reading. I know you weren't talking about fiction here. I was just applying this to my personal traits. It makes sense now. I thought maybe I had ADHD or something because I always seem to zone off when new facts are not being presented, even if its something that I am enjoying. I mostly enjoy factual material though.

the other time the brain tunes out is when it meets information that it doesn't know. Not knowing feels uncomfortable so the brain avoids it and says, i don't need to know that.

Yeah. That makes sense too. That really doesn't happen to me too often. Lol. I'm not saying that I know everything. Just saying that I recognize the difference in your points. I love information that I don't know but my brain will tune out when I feel that information, is being presented which I will never fully understand. I love the feeling of information that I didn't know but I can comprehend. Quantum physics does that to me, yet I am still boggled by time travel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01