Sort:  

Thanks. I really need to read that paper. I've been thinking quite a bit about backpropagation in neural networks lately, and how implausible it would be for a biological system to do it. I'm hoping that neuroscience eventually gives us more information about brain micro-structure, which may give some hints as to what's really going on.

And they don't really need to map the entire brain. Getting good detail on the visual pathway would be a great start. Then it would be nice to tie that into the part of the brain that holds onto a short term 3D model of our immediate surroundings to control body movement. I'm convinced that the two are very tightly bound.

On the topic of uploading one's brain into a machine, I'm relieved we are no where close to making that happen. Besides, I can't think of a worse type of prison: being able to think but not actively engage with one's surrounding environment. Just ask someone with a significant physical disability (blindness, complete loss of muscle control) ... it's the terror of being "trapped inside." And the whole idea reminds me of a particular H.P. Lovecraft short story that still gives me some anxiety. LOL

Fixed. Thanks for noticing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63950.69
ETH 3311.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92