You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Cervical Cancer - Another Virus-induced Problem

in #science7 years ago

Hi @suesa. Very informative article. I was wondering if it were possible that other types of cancer are being caused by perhaps undiscovered viral mechanisms. If one virus has evolved the ability to rewrite our genetic code (e.g., to instruct skin cells to start growing again but in abnormal ways), what's to stop viruses from doing so?

Sort:  

Of course! HPV itself can also cause skin cancer. A herpes virus is known to cause Hodgkin's lymphoma. Hepatitis can cause liver cancer. And the list goes on!

Our immune system can fight a lot, there is a lot we can vaccinate against. Medicine is advancing constantly. We might not be able to cure every cancer yet, induced by viruses or not, but we're getting there I'm sure.

That makes sense. And maybe researchers will find additional virus-cancer links in the future. Who knows, maybe we'll even be able to manufacture viruses that can rewrite the genetic code of other viruses.

I'll have to start following you more. I'm interested in steemstem topics and medicine, especially gene therapy.

My field is artificial intelligence and machine learning and I'm actively doing research in the area of computer vision. Feel free to give me any writing tips you might have if you get a chance to read my blog. I'm new to Steemit and still learning the ropes.

I'm also posting science fiction stories so don't be confused :D

As for advice, I recommend joining the steemSTEM channel on steemit.chat to make some friends.

Hey thanks. Is steemit.chat the same as discord? I recall reading about that somewhere.

No it's different, you can type steemit.chat into your url bar and it takes you there :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63330.76
ETH 3090.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.80