You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tawai: A Voice from the Forest. Bruce Parry's new film exploring indigenous people's ways of being

in #science7 years ago

wow great stuff, I've always loved Bruce's work and his openness about DMT experiences. One thing I would love to ask him though is if he believes that trustafariens (privilaged trust fund globe trotters) travelling to Peru for healing ceremonies is a positive for the tribes or negative. It's almost like it has became the hipster thing to do before you turn 40.

Sort:  

I'm not sure Bruce would be the one to ask? No harm to him or anything but at the end of the day he's a TV presenter, not an anthropologist. I think the people to ask are the people effected, the anthropologists involved, and whoever else is directly involved. I suspect any answer isn't a simple yes/no as it's a bag of mixed blessings and will depend on the various contexts. It's also not just trustafariens by any shot of the imagination!! Haven't actually been to the heart of ayahuasca country in Peru or Colombia myself, but have had some contact with that Ayahuasca communities in south east Brazil.

Did you see his interviews on youtube about the ayahuasca ceremonies and how many times he has been back just for that? thats why I would ask him because in a way he brought alot of attention to it through his TV show and his personal endorsements.

No I didn't actually, I must look those up, cheers for the tip. Good point, it'd be interesting to see how knowledgeable he was about the implications of the industry when he has a certain responsibility. I'm quite skeptical about any TV people! So many massive egos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67332.03
ETH 3499.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.25