Thoughts from an Engineer: Solar Activity & Resistance to Change in Science

in #science6 years ago (edited)


Hey there!

I wanted to share my thoughts [7 min] on the effects the Sun has on the Earth and the other orbiting bodies. What kind of effects, other than temperature can a star have on it's orbiting bodies? Is it just a Coronal Mass Ejection that could cause major changes to the Earth and it's environment?

I also spoke about how even in science, there can be resistance to change by some (I gave a personal example from college, when speaking to certain professors about what SpaceX was doing to change the space industry)

This week's influence came from listening to episode #1124 of the Joe Rogan Experience with special guest Robert Schoch. A great listen and a recommended listen or watch.

You can find Robert Schoch's work at www.robertschoch.com

I would love to see what my fellow Steemians think! Let me know in the comments.

What kind of effects do you think the Sun has on Earth, other than temperature and radiation
Can "unstable" solar activity cause changes in the planets around the Sun? To what extent?

I'd also love to know what you think about resistance to change in science. How prevalent do you think it is?

Hope you enjoy the episode!
Have a great week

Alex G. Orphanos

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56