You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Work in progress (paper three of the PhD)

in #science6 years ago

Just a suggestion, but look at using ANOM (Analysis of Means) charts for proportions instead of the forest plots. ANOM is a nice (and better) alternative to ANOVA that permits multiple comparisons to overall system performance. I use the techniques in Nelson's book: The Analysis of Means: A Graphical Method for Comparing Means, Rates, and Proportions. Since I am sometimes dealing with over 100 comparators on a graph, I also sometimes format the plot as a funnel plot. I generated a file of critical values for several different levels of alpha, since the tables in the books stop at a small number of comparators. In any case, I can send you a Tableau Public workbook that steps through all of this and contains all of the limit calculations (based on the normal approximation). I had to go back through several decades of papers to work out all of the details for the limits, but the bulk of the technique is in the book above. You can also use the R package ANOM.

Sort:  

Ok cool, thank you for this! I’m certain that this is some truly spectacular advice you have give here. But I'm two pints into my Friday evening so I'm afraid all I can give in reply at the moment is my gratitude. This looks like some good options for to look into on Monday. I've not yet ventured into R much yet but I it's probably best to learn how to do this properly now while I have the time. Thanks again, i really appreciate your input.

Two pints on a Friday evening is definitely not a statistical outlier!

It is here in the UK, I'm well below the mean right now!

Hey @toddrjohnson
Here's a tip for your valuable feedback! @Utopian-io loves and incentivises informative comments.

Contributing on Utopian
Learn how to contribute on our website.

Want to chat? Join us on Discord https://discord.gg/h52nFrV.

Vote for Utopian Witness!

Hey, cool look at that! So happy to see you get rewarded for your advice here. This platform is crazy good at incentivising a great comment section!

Yes, that was a nice surprise and quite helpful. I also got a huge boost from @postpromoter on one of my recent posts as part of their curation efforts. That has finally pushed me above 15 SP with no more SP delegated to me. I'm also glad to see your post getting lots of support too.

That's excellent, congratulations, really glad to hear that!

Yes, this one was a big surprise. I didn't try to push it with any paid promotion or anything. It just goes to show the #steemSTEM effect in action.

I've read about #steemstem and started to use the tag, buts it's not clear from their posts if I have to do something more like I did to apply for #steemitbloggers.

Hi there @toddrjohnson & @nonzerosum (thank you for the information provided :))

You do not have to apply to the @steemtem, you need to write STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics) and follow certain quality guidelines

I invite you to read this link for more information

In case of any questions, feel free to join us @steemstem on discord or to take a look at the FAQs

Greetings,

Katerina

Mentor_3.png

Thanks for the pointer to the detailed information. If you need more curators let me know. I've been a researcher and teacher for several decades.

We would be delighted to meet you on discord too : )

In (the unlikely) case you do not know what discord is, it is a chatting platform that allows users to communicate, send direct messages etc

You may find more info here

Thank you again for taking the time to reply!

Katerina

I've not come across the steemitbloggers tag before but the main requirements for the stem tag is 1. Write something write something on science, technology, engineering or maths. 2. Make it accessible and interesting. 3. Reference your sources used. 4. Don't use copyrighted images. 5 tag it #steemstem. Also interact with the community, which you already do a lot of anyway.

Their @steemstem account has linked to lots of resources and style guides in the past but what I've listed here are the basics. I try to only use it when I've got something that fits closely with their existing content as I don't want to overload them with irrelevant content to sift through.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63759.51
ETH 3318.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91