You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Toxoplasmosis: In Defense of the Cat

in #science6 years ago

Amazing post! Thanks for this. I've often wondered about the maligning of the house cat for this reason. I've seen scare articles shared on Facebook (even unfriended someone over his radical beliefs in this area.) I always felt it was a threat blown way out of proportion, but I never had any science to back that up. Thanks so much!

Sort:  

I appreciate that. I really went to bat for the cats. They get a raw deal on this one. About 3/4 of toxoplasmosis infections in the world are due to asexual (non-cat) reproduction. We should really look to ways of controlling the parasite and practicing good hygiene.

I can spot a cat lover a mile away :) Me too...and dogs, and mice, and birds, and....

Yep! I'm totally with you there. I love them all (except mosquitoes - I hate mosquitoes... and biting flies - in fact, anything that bites me and makes me swell up...)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63935.07
ETH 3138.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87