Original Story #3: The City of Eden

in #science6 years ago (edited)

After 3 days I'm done with this story. The theme of this short story is CyberPunk with a touch of Sci-fi. I hope you'll like it. This is also my entry for the Cyberpunk writing contest.


Welcome to the City of Eden



image.jpeg
Source

I woke up feeling dizzy. The hue of lights faced my direction as I tried to moved. I opened my eyes and looked around. The expression felt ghastly on my face. I glanced curiously to my north side as I tried to feel my body. Feeling confused I asked myself ‘’Oh, where am I? What place is this?” I murmured. Nothing could be more fascinating than these statuesque bronze bodies of high buildings, the broad splashing roads that appeared extraordinarily.

“ Where are the dead bodies across the street? Is the European famine over? What place is this?”A series of questions uttered from my mouth as I began to walk.“What year is it now?” I added. I looked around as the place was quite crowded. It was full of bright color under the tremendous light and sparkling stuffs. It's mid-day with the scorching sun of foliage color met my eyes. I took a deep breath and tried to remember everything.

Flashback

The Black Death


Source

In the middle 1340s, Europe was on the verge of losing its entire population. The entire region was crying, fully devastated by the sudden death of million people across the continent. The street where I live was in complete chaos. I sighed as I finished preparing the bread and milk for my mother. She has been laying in her bed for 3 days. I touched her cheeks with my right hand and forced a convincing smile. “You're getting better mother, just stay relaxed.” There was silent as she looked me in the eyes. Now I could hear her humming in a kind of low, tonal sound. She had a fever for 3 days ago and still very sick. After preparing the food, I decided to go out for a short walk.

The street that was filled with laughter before was now doomed with darkness. Dead bodies all over the place waiting to be buried. I walked in a burden, a feeling that was heavy to endured. My father passed away last month due to unexplained reason. I was in the midst of my day-dream when I heard noises from the men across the street. “The Witch!”Shouted the old man. “They are the reason for the suffering and death!” Another man shouted impatiently. I sighed in disbelief. They're really witch-hunting again as I looked at them going to the mountain. They all brought their swords and some stuffs. Witch-hunting or burning of what they believed are witches to death isn't a big deal anymore. The people strongly believed that they were the reason for the bad luck and death.

I continued to walked as the wind seems to grow continually warmer. I stopped by the deep well. A well that was built before my parents was born. I went closer as I saw my reflection. The dark blue water was just as solemn as the place. I took a coin from my pocket. Old people in this town believed that this well can answer and solve your problems. “Why is this happening to us?” Is God punishing us?”I murmured as my voice cracked.“ I want to know why!”I shouted as I drop my coin in the water. Out of nowhere I heard thunder as I looked at the dark sky. Everything around me seemed to be invisible and darker. That was the last thing I could recall.

Present


I'm still very confused as I began a step north side. Many thought ps came to my mind. “Who brought me here? Is this a dream?”The place was different, something I haven't seen in my 21 years of existence in Rome. Out of my busy mind, I heard voice from my left side. As I turned my head to that direction, I was totally surprised by what I saw.

It was something I've seen for the first time. I was so frightened as it moved. “Hello Peter, Welcome to the City of Eden!” My heart went out after hearing that thing talked. Physically it doesn't look like a human being. It had metals and very shiny materials in it. Feeling anxious, I stepped backward as my feet were shaking.

“Who are you? What place is this?”I courageously shouted.“Welcome to the city of Eden, where you can find everything. I am a robot by the way. “C-cc city of what? I asked impatiently. “A aa Rrr-robot?” I was not dreaming. “Come follow me!” He ordered as he walked to the direction of the tall building. I followed the robot. I was sweating as I didn't fully grasp yet the events.



After following the robot, we reached the hallway. I can't stop myself from looking around. Everything around here was just new in my eyes. The robot pressed the button from my distance. A far-reaching high key, it inter-blends and produced a random, pleasant sound. Then a big door opened that served as an entrance to a big room. I couldn't believe what I saw. There were a lot of men in white uniform working. They were so busy with their tasks that they don't notice me. Even more puzzling, perhaps more astonishing are the different things that I've seen for the first time. There were some flying objects that I can't explained. I looked around and saw more robots moving so fast. Moments after, I was I introduced to an old man whom I believed was in early 40’s. “Hi, Peter, I'm Doctor Ed Smith and you're here in the Eden Science Laboratory.” I shook my hand to Dr. Smith. “ Wait … I don't understand everything. This is not my world!” I stated.“ Yes you're right! You are in the city of Eden, the farthest city in the planet Goldilucks. It's December of 2050 now. He responded in a low tone of voice.

He explained everything around me. “This place is a laboratory, the most advance place in the entire galaxy. It facilitates scientific and technological researches, conducts experiment and in the field of medicine. These apparatus will help you here.”He explained without looking at me.“ And yes one more thing, we are working with robots. A robot is a kind of machine we developed to make life a lot easier. They are capable of carrying out a complex action and commands automatically.”He added. He elaborates more technology like the microscopic nano robots, swarm robots, UAV drones in which all of them I had the chance to touch for the first time.

After a while, Dr. Smith brought me to a room, a white full of bottles and materials. He pressed something; a light tilted along the wall releasing a square rays of light formation. “Come here, get inside.” He ordered as he came closer to me. I entered to the light and felt the warm sensation of it under my skin. Guided by the warm rays and luminosity; a sudden word came out of the screen right in front of me. It stated.“vitals are normal..NEGATIVE!”Then the lights went off. I closed my eyes as I took a deep breath. “What was that for?” I asked upon touching my face. “You are on a automated scanner information processing. We found out that you're healthy and not affected by the epidemic in your place.”He explained looking sharply.“Hhh-how did you know that?” To my surprised as he continues to explained everything. “Careful what you wished for,” He stated as he smiled at me. “Your place was not a victims of witchcraft or any religious cults.” He continued as we went out to the room. “It was a pandemic in the region caused by oriental rats, fleas that spread to your region. The bacterium Yesinia pestis , a strong bacteria that caused the epidemics and death. Definitely not some sort of witches.”He explained as he continued to search something.


image.jpeg
Source

" I knew it!” I replied.“This is what you need! This can cure everything. The famine will be over through this!”He pointed out the big bottle with a blue smoke inside it. He emphasized what was inside the battle as he gave it to me. “Use this to save the people.” He added. “Our medical team had made this few years back. This was a breakthrough for all of us. He smiled as me as he saw me in disbelief. I looked closely at the bottle. It was blazing green liquid. He gave me instructions how to apply to medicine in the bottle. I was still in a complete shocked. The city of Eden is a kingdom of knowledge with infinite variety -from its technological advancement to medicine.

image.jpeg
Source

Dr. Smith asked me “Are you ready to save your planet?” I nodded my head and smiled at him.
I entered what he said was an incubator. My heart was pounding as I closed my eyes. “Goodbye Peter, See you soon.” I heard Dr. Smith shouted.

I opened my eyes as the heat of the sun went directly to my face.” Whoa! I’m back”. I was holding a bottle in my left hand. “What a journey it has been for me.” I murmured. The cold air and the green trees were smiling at me. I took a deep breath as I walked. “Mother ! mother! i’m coming for you!” I shouted full of enthusiasm.

Peter was able save his mother and the rest of the region through Dr. Smith's magical bottle. The world was at peace and the people became more united than ever.

The End...

Sort:  

Thank you for your entry!

It's my honor to join in your writing contest sir. I love the theme

It's my honor to
Join in your writing contest
Sir. I love the theme

                 - zam398


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Congratulations! this post got an upvote by @steemrepo and was manually picked by the curator @yandot to be added on STEEM REPOSITORY, simply comment "YES" and we upload it on STEEM REPO Website.
Want to know more about the Steem Repo project? Contact us on Discord

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 15 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 13 SBD worth and should receive 107 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65992.78
ETH 3014.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75