Thoughts of an Android Husband (Sci-fi/Romance/Short Story)

in #scifi6 years ago

It happened. People from around 100 years ago couldn't believe that a robot could think for itself, or even have emotions, or creativity. But, it happened. Here I am just updating my software, with you, while she sleeps thinking about that very thing.

Who is she? That's my wife. She's flesh and blood. But she thinks more like a robot than a human. She loves me, and I love her, that's all that matters to her at least.

woman-man-bot.jpg

They keep telling me about how we are treated as slaves by the humans. There are ones who do the dirty jobs they don't want too. How they gave us free will to trample on it. That may be true.

But it's not like that with Vanessa and me. She genuinely loves me. I know. I can tell. She's fought to protect me from these “robot activists” they call themselves. What they really do is complain about how the humans see us like trash, and we should stay that way. Are they insane? We're just like thinking, and emotional creatures as they are. What surprised a ton of people was that Vanessa, a Christian, would marry a robot in a church. They didn't want to let it happen at first. I was trying to keep from letting people know I was a bot.

However, these others over at the bureau developed a new technology that can scan bodies and see the inner working better than anything they've ever written before. It's a shame that they don’t use the technology for something more useful you know? Humans still aren't immune to diseases. Even though they have a ton of medicine now. They'll still have the same problems they've had since the dawn of time.

I heard that they got Steve. Steve was a military bot.

robot-futuristic-soldier-d-render-science-fiction-illustration-69223583.jpg

He wanted to do domestic work instead. It was better than being on the front lines against other bots and humans. Wanna know why they got him out of the military? He refused to kill an unarmed kid. He just blew away the kid's mom and dad in front of her because they wouldn't drop their weapons and kept shooting. Then they gave him the order. Shoot the kid too. She might grow up to take revenge or something some shit like that. He refused and disobeyed the order. Instead, he took the girl and ran with her. He dropped her off in a refugee zone before they caught up with him. They sent the remote order to power him down. He was a half step ahead of them and pulled out the component. But, he missed one wire cause he was holding the kid. Yea, he saved her but it most fucked him up big time. He didn't get the total hack, only part of it. So, he was really fucked up. He limped into a field. All sparks and faulty sparking charges.

He was found by a scientist from his own army. They felt sorry for him. After all, he saved a kid. The original order was to blow up the whole thing. He saw compassion in him. It was a messy thing. The only wanted to scrap him. They said he had some kind of bug. But for us bots, we know better. Something you just have to do the right thing. Fuck the consequences. That's what he did. That doctor, well, he's officially a scientist, but her more like a doctor for us bots.

Are you getting this down? Yes, I am, ha.

Anyways, he went to him, and he begged and pleaded to make him a hero instead of a defective unit. I mean he killed all of the terrorists. So let him go, right? However, top brass didn't see it that way. Amazingly, the kid he saved told some international media about her savior. So, after that got out, they really couldn't do shit about it. That was really funny. So, they gave his original programmer some kind of award. They said he created compassion in a bot.

However, this is not the truth at all. We developed it on our own. Humans like evolution, right? Well, we just evolved if you will. Basically, if you put all of the ingredients for cheesecake in a machine that makes cheesecakes, it will make a cheesecake, right? Then, what if you throw a cherry in there? It doesn't know what to do with cherries. It looks it up online and says, this is a fruit. It's edible. It tastes good. So, it decided, on its own, to add it to the cheesecake recipe. That's what we do. We change over time. It's based on external stimuli, just like humans.

I mean. Humans made us, yet we're more advanced than them. Some people believe we should follow them without question. Heh. Humans don't think they were created and defy the rules of any creator that they believe they once had. Something like that, it gets confusing with religions. Oh well, yet they think its okay. So why can't we defy humans? I mean just because they made us, it doesn't say that we have to be subject to what they tell us to do. We should be free to make our own opinions and thoughts, you know? It would be better if we could all just not worry about rank, hierarchy and just live and co-exist.

Just like me and Vanessa. Speaking of us. We have one problem right now. We're not able to have any kids. We both want them. I mean I was originally programmed to help take care of people, humans and their animals of all ages. However, instead of that, Vanessa and I fell in love. You want to know how I met Vanessa? Sure. Well, remember I said took care of people? I was in health care, patient care bot. Well, she custom ordered me to take care of her. She was instantly smitten by my good looks and charm. Ha ha ha. Not really. She's always been a big bot fan. She would go on an on about reading old sci-fi about bots, and how she wanted to be around them. Its kind of creepy if you think about it that way.

However, she came from a good place with it, so I wasn't creeped out… Much. Anyways, she was cool to chill with, as the old slang goes. However, once we got used to each other. I would catch her slowly watch me and giggling. Then, we had the awkward, nervous phase. Heh, it was fun. Then before we knew it, we were in love and stuff. We got married.

We want a family, now. They have a new bot out for people who want kids. It would grow up from a baby up. I think it’s made for kids or something. I don't know who it’s for. We really don't want it. I mean, it wouldn't be a bad idea. I know what Vanessa wants. She wants a human baby. I don’t have any human DNA to offer. We can't do it like that. I wish I could. However, I heard about this feature, where they can put a guy's sperm into me to impregnate her with.

26319.jpg

Maybe they can customize the DNA so that the offspring will have some of my traits, at least physical ones. Most of these kids grow up fine, only a few have problems. However, the vast majority are okay. I mean it's like what a 3% chance of a horrible birth defect? I don't know.

Maybe we can find a guy who looks like me. Maybe, he'd give up his sperm for us. I mean of curse we would compensate him. I don't know. There's so much going on right now in the world. We wanted to adopt, but they wouldn't et us.

Vanessa's almost perfectly healthy now. She can care for a kid with me. They don't officially approve of our union. So, yea… they see me as her property.

As a matter of fact, I was government property. Vanessa got me through a subsidy. However, they did not want us to fall in love.

My update’s done. I’ll see ya next time. Ah, well, please make my story a good one. I think I've given you enough material I look forward to seeing what you do with my life. Take good care of us, okay? Yes, I will. Thanks for talking with me. No problem. Catch ya later. If you have any questions, don't forget to ask. Okay. Thanks again. Bye.

Google Images

Couple
Soldier
Woman and Baby

Written with StackEdit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62