Are These Scooters Cost-Efficient?!?!

in #scooters6 years ago

Just a few weeks ago-swear to God this literally happened like overnight-I’m walking my dog in the morning and suddenly I notice all of these bright and shiny new scooters perched near our normal walking route. Intrigued, I take a closer peek.

The signage informs me that I could unlock the scooter and ride it for only a dollar or so, but another sticker warns me that I need a helmet and can’t ride it on the sidewalk. This, of course, is laughable now. Because ever since the Scooter Occupation of 2018 (that’s the official name, did you know?!), it would seem that 0% of people riding these things actually adhere to either of the rules.

Now, I was intrigued initially. And I definitely think it’s a cool concept still. I could see how something like this could be a godsend if you’re just looking to crush that last mile. But there are some practical issues at hand here-the first being that Los Angeles is woefully devoid of bike lanes. Meaning that people ARE using the sidewalk and almost running over pedestrians.

Then there’s the vandalism issue, which came into full relief today when I saw a Lime scooter just casually sitting in a trash can while on my walk to get coffee. Trying to be a Good Samaritan, I emailed the company with its location.

But then later on this evening2B568838-4A33-4E3D-8B5B-F1C230EA16E8.jpeg7B4335D1-9636-4530-80DC-6A2C8ECE70E4.jpeg, I came across yet ANOTHER imperiled scooter. This one was lying on its side and flashing ominous blue lights. I kept my distance and did not investigate further. After all, I’d already saved one scooter (hopefully), and who the hell am I anyway-Captain Save-a-Scooter? I don’t even have a scooter membership, or whatever it’s called, myself.

So I guess this story and accompanying pictures are just my super long way of asking-are these companies making any money?! Because it seems like the scooters are a target for vagabonds and drunkards. Not judging either group-just making an observation. Maybe the scooters get really obnoxious and loud after midnight and they deserve the abuse. Who knows? So, anyhoo, how can this be profitable at like a dollar a ride?!

Sort:  

Congratulations @kimberlytrew! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Wth! Keep that shit! Lololol. No, but really... I dont think they make money. They should get with that company that just started out making these collapsible bike helmets. The thing is is that it was not a well-organized business plan if you think of it. They should have realized that helmets were going to be a number one must-have. How many people don't ride them because of the helmet. You can't add a metal wire to the helmet because what if there's an accident and somebody decapitates their head. So yeah all around bad business idea I agree so sad because it is a neat concept. I'm disabled so I can't drive anymore I would totally ride one of these little scooters. Or maybe do it to where you know you buy the helmet, once a year; it's like a membership. Only then would they be getting their money for the helmets that they have to put out and still have the people take care of them. yeah so sad

Posted using Partiko Android

Exactly! Feels like a lawsuit (or several) just waiting to happen.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65920.41
ETH 3016.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71