I Never Smoked Weed and I can Tell You Why

in #scotbot5 years ago (edited)

I am 37 years old now and have lived in California my whole life. I never got into smoking weed and it came down to a very simple thing. I saw weed pretty much ruin my father's life. Looking at it now I know that the laws around weed played a big part in this. But still, I couldn't get over how it took the man that use to be able to do just about anything and turned him into a person that didn't want to do anything but get high.

My father owned his own business once, was a world champion disc golf player. Mind you that sport never caught on but he got to perform some tricks at angel stadium once. It leads to me to be able to through a frisbee father that most people expected. I am pretty sure he was info smoking weed most of this adult life. At some point, things just changed for him though. Maybe he couldn't handle that he didn't get to keep being the Star he was but he turns into a guy that worked came home got high in the garage and just didn't talk to me much. I know that he explained that he didn't want me to start doing those things and that is why he didn't include me in much he did.

He died at 57 living up in the Humboldt County. He was living off the grid with some friends growing Pot. they had a few trailers and might have been growing a lot. I am not really sure. My mone was living with him but she died a few years before. Had a heart attack up there and just couldn't get medical assistant fast enough. Not that I know if that would have mattered or not. Her death stopped him for a bit but he went back up there to try and keep it going. He had this idea, that the state would legalize it and he would create a big brand. Seeing what happened in this State in the last few years he might have done it. But he also fell victim to a heart attack up there. I lost both my parents before I was 30 before I got married and before my kids came along. So all of this has kept me away from the drug. I know so many that use it just for fun. But to me, it stole my parents away from me. Also, it leaves me with some guilt. Maybe if he would have included me in it, I could have changed things. But maybe he could see that wasn't something I wanted to do.

I hope most of you don't have sad stories like this. I hope most of you just get to enjoy this place. I came here just because of how cool it is to see what @richardcrill did with the help of @aggroed and all the people that worked on it. Pretty cool to see how you made this. I will check it out from time to time and see if I can support it.

image source

Sort:  

I can see why you would stay clear of it with a past like that. Sorry for your losses and them being tied to this. Your Dad was right in the direction of things in that industry and it's to bad he didn't get to see it materialize.

Ya, I never took a chance to let it grab me as it did to him.

Ya, I never took
A chance to let it grab me
As it did to him.

                 - stever82


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

At this point in your life, I can certainly understand why you didn't smoke nor vape, nor anything else in this community at all. I think that your father was one of the unfortunate ones to become mentally addicted. it doesn't happen all the time, but it happens.

True some can smoke it and have fun and then not need it again for a long time but for him it was needed too much.

There's always that risk that you take. It looks like for him, it went down instead of up.

Posted using Partiko Android

This post is supported by @tipU upvote :)
@tipU voting service: get instant upvotes + profit sharing tokens | For investors.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

I'm sorry to hear that that's how things played out for you. From my experience, some people hit a wall in life in which marijuana is the only thing that makes them feel as if they are no longer stuck. It may seem like it was a simple habit he could have just kicked and everything would have been perfect but perhaps he felt insecure about his mental and physical health and that it was the only way he could keep going.

Obviously, I didn't know your father, but my mother was a drinker so I can relate. It always felt like she cared more about getting drunk than she did about me. Marijuana can be great for awhile, but it just becomes a habit...so you weren't missing out in that respect.

It sounds like he could have at the very least done a better job of limiting his usage or concealing it from you. I remember my mom with a bottle so frequently that it's burned into my mind

Ya it is hard for me to stay why he turned to it so hard. My best guess is when we lost our house and we had to live with my grand parents. It is hard to hide marijuana it smells and like alcohol you act very different on it. He had a laser focus when not high. Lack luster when high. I just wish more of my memories of him didn’t have disappoint in them either of him for what he did or for me not trying a little harder. Sorry you had some hardships also most of us do. Thanks for the kind works

Posted using Partiko iOS

Weed ruined part of my life too. It's alright though because I can soberly perform self reflection now and correct the damage that was done.

It sucks growing up with addicts. Drugs rob people of more than they know.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes they can. I hope to see on this system that sometimes it is more of how it effects that person than it being really dangerous but for sure. I look back and also know that if he didn't get sent to jail for it life could have been different maybe.

Congratulations @stever82! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

New japanese speaking community Steem Meetup badge

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Love this post. Me too - love @richardcrill and what he's doing, so supportive of it. I'll be posting a few posts just to be part of this AWESOME THING. xx

Sorry to hear you lost your parents so young, and association weed has with them. I've heard both good and bad stories - I guess it's the same with everyone. Seen people totally lose the plot, seen people function just absolutely fine. I guess you gotta know your poisons.

Yes it really just shows how different we all are and how things just affect us differently thanks for the kind words.

Hi @stever82!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.175 which ranks you at #8601 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 133 places in the last three days (old rank 8734).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 234 contributions, your post is ranked at #90.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85