Study of Elsa Lanchester - "Frankies Bride"

in #sculpting6 years ago (edited)

Study of Elsa Lanchester - " Frankies Bride"


Elsa1.jpg

Sculpting a "portrait" is always challenging for me.
I mostly prefer to sculpt "free" and not to follow a guideline and
a portrait for me is a guideline ;-)
However, if I like the face/figure/whatever I sometimes do them.
A collector asked me, if I can do Elsa Lanchester as "Frankensteins Bride".
I love "darker sculpts" (ok...Elsa as The Bride of Frankenstein is not really sooo dark ;-) ), witches, vampires etc. and so I said yes.
To get familar with her face, I decided to first did a sketch of it and well...here it is:

Elsa2.jpg

I hope, I will be able to "catch her face in clay" as it is one thing, to sketch or draw a face but another to sculpt it.
For sculpting you have to imagine the face "without everything"....no color, no little blushes etc. on the skin, no hair, no brows, no eyelashes.
But you tend to "sculpt what you see" and if you do that and THEN add lashes, hair, color etc...you will fail...the face will look...strange... lol.

I hope to find the time, to start to sculpt her face in the next few days..
and I hope, I will make it!

Wishing you all a creative day 🎨



Copyright @maysi-art - All Rights Reserved

Sort:  

She is a striking woman, and you captured her beautifully, maysi :D.

It's interesting that sculpting would need people to be able to create a face without any hairs or colours, I find that very hard to do. I hope you will find time and sculpt her, I wanna see ^_^!

-upvoted-

Thank you @scrawly :-)
Yes, that can be very tricky. When you start sculpting you therefore often do eyes to big, heads to big etc.
It´s very strange, to sculpt, for example eyes a lot smaller than you see them in your reference.
Eylashes, color etc. let the eyes look much bigger, than they really are.

I'm a sucker for the Bride. Such an iconic look and arguably one of the most moving scenes in the classic monster movie canon, and all in such a short amount of film. Your sketch does her justice and I'm very much looking forward to the sculpt.

Thank you!! :-) I hope, I will make it! I´m really a little nervous about that.

Hello maysi-art!

Congratulations! This post has been randomly Resteemed! For a chance to get more of your content resteemed join the Steem Engine Team

Thank you very much :-)

NIce rendering of Frankie's bride; I immediately recognized her!

Thank you very much! :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68515.51
ETH 3777.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65