LastPass-CLI command line password manager [cli]

in #security5 years ago

lpassmanscreenshot.png

As a long time listener of Security Now, I started using LastPass as browser extension for managing my passwords. I have trying to apply the good practice of not using the same password at more than one location and after starting to use the android app for LastPass I decided that the only thing missing was a command line application.

I found lastpass-cli on github and have been trying to make more use of it rather than starting a browser and looking up a password either through their extension or going to the LastPass website.

The readme file on the github page has pretty good installation directions for most popular linux distros as well as OSX which worked for me without any problems on both Ubuntu and Arch.

I still need some more practice searching for the correct listing. Usually the problem I have is when I have more than one account on a website.

lpass login <email address/username>
<enter lastpass master password>
Success: Logged in

Then in order to find a password for a site where I have more than one account I have been using the following commands.

lpass ls | grep telnetbbs
BBS/telnetbbsguide.com [id: 4049781259207203587]

I couldn't resist using an example referencing some old bygone period but that is still very active.

So then to show the password, I use

lpass show BBS/telnetbbsguide.com

BBS/telnetbbsguide.com [id: 4049781259207203587]
Username: <username>
Password: <my 35 character long password of random characters and puctuation>
URL: http://telnetbbsguide.com/wdprs/wp-login.php
log: <username>
pwd: <my 35 character long password of random characters and puctuation>

I can also copy and past in the id number to show (which is usually what I do).

lpass show 4049781259207203587

BBS/telnetbbsguide.com [id: 4049781259207203587]
...
...

I must admit that most of the time when I add a new entry (site url, username, and password), I still use the browser extension in Firefox or Chrome.

When I have attempted to add an entry using lpass I have usually been in a hurry and stumbled through some syntax errors and finally give up and start up the browser and just use the LastPass extension.

The command syntax for adding entries is as follows (directly from the lpass man page):

lpass add [--sync=auto|now|no] [--non-interactive] {--name|--username, -u|--password, -p|--url|--notes|--field=FIELD|--note-type=NOTETYPE} [--color=auto|never|always] {NAME|UNIQUEID}

I believe adding some shell aliases would probably make using lpass a little quicker and easier to use.

On another side note, I have also looked at KeePass several times in the past for password management but always seemed to find some reason not to continue.

If any one has experience with either LastPass or other Password managers you would like to share please add a comment as I would love to hear what other people are using.

Sort:  

Lastpass-cli can be integrated with Qutebrowser. You might want to look into that.

Loading...

Congratulations @clifun! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68625.09
ETH 3746.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76