You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to set an own password, which is not generated by Steemit

in #security7 years ago

Thank you for taking the time to write this series @noisy. I paid the expensive lesson by doing the final mistake you showed only 2 days ago when transferring 493 steem from bittrex to steemit. All gone 10 minutes later, and I am just lucky to have my account back already. ( My story )

I wish I had read an in depth tutorial like yours the very first day I got into steemit. But at least now I have.

Keep it up!

Sort:  

Wow sorry to hear that. Where did you expose it?

Here is a small tip

tip! 2.0

Thank you very much for that. It's both greatly appreciated and half the reason why I think STEEM will eventually go to the Moon when I see how great this community is.

I really did two mistakes.

  1. I thought sending funds to a steemit account required the use of the public memo key as an ID for which account to send the funds to.
  2. I mistakenly copied the wrong key from the word file where I had saved them. Posting my main password instead of the public memo key (which was unnecessary in the first place), and thus making it visible on the Blockchain (dunno if they saw it on my wallet, on Steemd, or just had a bot searching for it).

10 minutes later someone had spotted my error, changed all my keys, and sent the 493 STEEM I had just received to Blocktrades. At least I got my Account Recovery done very quickly, mostly thanks to a good community here helping me reach the right individuals, and knowing some myself that could help.

Anyhow, it was really awful, and I just hope I can help others not do the same grave mistake.

Thank you for the detailed explanation. Once again sorry for your loss but I'm glad you were able to recover your account.

Hi @fredrikaa! You have just received a 2.0 SBD tip from @sneakgeekz!

@tipU - send tips by writing tip! in the comment and get share in service profit :)
By upvoting this comment you support the service - thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70759.18
ETH 3812.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44