LACK OF ACTIVE SECURITY OFFICERS AND THE DAILY INCREASE OF CRIME IN MY STATE(AKWA IBOM STATE, NIGERIA)

in #security6 years ago

image

Hey guys welcome to my welcome. I am a native of akwa ibom State, Nigeria, a state that was well noted as the most secured state in the country during the reign of the last government, which was governed by HIS EXCELLENCY, SENATOR GODWILL AKAPBIO(he was partially the best thing that happened to our state in the pass 30 years after been created) .

Today, the city is a complete shadow of itself  ,with the daily increase in crime,  cultist activities, initiation of young and naive children into cult, daily records of death and the gradual disappearance of security officers from their check point. I have really tried placing the actual course of the mayhem but still can't. 

image

This is a picture of a very popular location in my state. Few years ago, this was where majority of the city resident are located, either take g picture or socializing but today it is a different story. No one literally brings out him/her mobile device when around here because of the fear of been robbed, very few persons comes down here to use the atm, because they don't want to get robbed. The record of daily robbing around this area is alarming and the security operatives seem to be doing nothing about it, before now there use to be seven different point to either locate a police or an army personnel but today it is even hard to see them around.
image

What annoys me the most is the acceptance of the act by her residents. A robbers can public rob an individual in the daylight and get away with it while people watch the incident take place.

I am a member of the @steemit-uyo community and also @stach-uyo and there have been frequent records of stolen phones and laptops amongst our members, which has lead to most of them losing their account also, for instance @teaser and @kween001 and many other. I myself have been confronted countless time but at every point I always escape or over power them(all glory to God).

I had another experience today while returning from a job in the early hours of the day. I knew the current situation of the area, so I left my phone, ATM card and money at the place of work with hopes of getting it back when I return in the day. Just by the junction to my house a car pulled over and men with cutlass and guns came out and ordered me to stop.
I was frightened but kept my cool, they searched me and everything I am with, hoping I will be the criminal who just shot a man and his family dead. I was told to stay off the street and be careful but the fact that another life has been lost can not be excused.

I know blogging about this might not help the situation at hand but it will sure help others speak out and eventually make others security conscious, thereby reducing the victims of crime stories. 

image

If you have ever experienced anything similar please share in the comments section .

Say no to crime

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61560.41
ETH 2894.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61