Pwned Passwords

in #security6 years ago (edited)

According to statista.com, the number of internet users worldwide was 3.58 billion. How many different passwords a normal user would use? Probably not more than 3, I would say... Now, the interesting part is coming: we hear everyday about hackers stealing user credentials from different servers. In fact, somebody managed to collect half a billion credentials and to put them on a database which you can interrogate using an online interface (link to the online search tool). This means that 1 out of 20 passwords are now available for everybody to use.

Scary, isn't it?

As an example, I searched for the usage of the "1234" in the pwned passwords. Can you believe that a trivial password like this was used 1.1 million times?

Actually, I even checked for one of the passwords that I'm reusing on different unsecure websites, and found out that it was found 2 times in breach data.

Just remember, it's always a good habit to periodically change your passwords and never use trivial or words out of dictionaries. By the way, neither the name of your first pet or your first girlfriend is also not a good password (40.000 people are using "oscar" and 60.000 people are using "sophie" as passwords).

Sort:  

Interesting statistics. Wouldn’t have guessed that many passwords and I feel a lot gg people use the same one for everything.

I’ll have to test out some of mine on that website. Although, it is a bit frightening thinking about entering your real passwords into a web application...who knows what they really do with them.

Thanks for the info, cheers.

Also I do not trust putting my most secure passwords in a web form. Not that they are not trustable, I've seen they have a statement about how they are using the data, but I'm a strong advocate of the idea that passwords must remain secret!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61185.89
ETH 2933.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68