Workshop - Who is intelligent ?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #self-esteem4 years ago

library-869061_1920.jpg

Let’s try to ask yourself this question: Do I think I am intelligent ?

The answer will probably change depending on the context, if you would have to answer in a comment here or within a group of person, you will adapt. To stay humble, because you don’t want to be judged or fear what will follow if you say yes or no.

Is your self esteem about intelligence flayed by your schooling? Is someone intelligent only when he his strong in mathematics or writing ? When did you start thinking: Am I intelligent ? At 6 years old maybe 10 ?

Classroom workshop


What I did in almost 60 classroom from 5 to 13 years is: Go in front of the student and kindly ask who is intelligent in this classroom ?

With the little ones, simple - They all raise their hands in a matter of a few seconds. They all believe they are intelligent and it’s true! Then with the middle ones from 8 to 10, you get 75% of yes, with the bigger ones from 10 to 13 years old you get 25% yes. With the middle and big ones I ask them to answer anonymously on a piece of paper, since saying yes in the classroom can be risky!

Isn't It crazy to see that more they grow and less they believe in them self. These small workshops were made in the French part of Switzerland!. It’s all about self esteem. The school can harm it in some case and power it in other. I did this exercise with the students to remind them that they are all smart!

After the theory, the students shares they skills in small groups or draw (for the little ones) and then they can or not shares their thoughts to the all classroom.

Theory of multiple intelligences


Then I explain the base of the theory of multiple intelligences, humans have 7 intelligences and we have them all but maybe not at the same level. Some are skilled in musical-rhythmic and some others in interpersonal intelligence. From Wikipedia:

Gardner proposed seven abilities that he held to meet these criteria.

  • Musical-rhythm
  • Visual-spatial
  • Verbal-linguistic
  • Logical-mathematical
  • Bodily-kinesthetic
  • Interpersonal
  • Intrapersonal

He later suggested that existential and moral intelligences may also be worthy of inclusion.

Video


Here is a nice ~4 min video explaining the 7 (actually 8 in the clip) intelligences with examples:




sep-small.png

Every single human is intelligent, do not let anyone say the opposite to you, we are all different that’s all. Everyone needs to have self esteem to become the best version of himself! I believe that your school path don’t define who you are, diplomas are important but pointless if no passion, if no talent. In the same time, someone who found his talent, don’t necessarily needs diploma to succeed.

sep-leaf.png

Photo from pixabay.com - Under free CCO License
Cross posted from my Whaleshares blog
Wikipedia - Theory of multiple intelligences

Sort:  

Honestly some days I feel so intelligent and others I loose all my marbles and struggle to form a decent sentence haha - I wish I could remember everything I read, but alas not

I wish I could remember everything too! I guess the important part is to never forget we are intelligent in our own way with our own skills. Thanks for commenting :-)

Congratulations @pankso! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 300 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Notifications have been disabled. Sorry if I bothered you.
To reactivate notifications, drop me a comment with the word NOTIFY

Hi Bro , I just found @whaleshares-bank 😀 cool √

Cool and thanks for the support!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71