Hapkido Kyusho Jitsu Connect

in #self4 years ago

Below is a new article from my blog at the Kyusho Jitsu World Alliance.

My martial arts training began officially on November 10th 1984 in Windsor Ontario Canada as part of Chung Oh's School of Tae Kwon Do. Grand Master Oh was at this time a 7th Dan Black Belt in Hapkido as well as Tae Kwon Do. The TKD element was really only the Hyung or Kata we learned bases on the ITF or International Tae Kwon Do Federation. GM Oh and General Choi were very close. But today I want to discuss the Hapkido Kyusho Jitsu Connection.

My direct instructor was Master Philip Hollohan, who was an amazing teacher. I was with him for about 16 years before venturing out on own in July 2000.

What was the main reason? One day I met a man on the streets of Windsor who was dangerous. And there was no way I could handle this man alone. I found out the follow day from the Windsor Police who apprehended him after my call that was a dangerous psychotic.

This caused me many sleepless night and I wanted desperately to learn more and take my focus from sport, to real street self defense. So in 2000 I opened my own Dojo full-time in pursue of knowledge.

Hapkido Kyusho Jitsu Connection
The Hapkido Kyusho Jitsu Connection was not the first part of my learning when I went out on my own. At first I met a Kempo Grand Master named Raymond Hayes. He spoke of the Octagon, which I found fascinating. Soke Hayes passed away several years ago. I miss the many conversions he and I had, as well as his wisdom and direction.

But I did end up working directly with one of his former students who had pursued and attained a high rank in Kosho Ryu. I worked with Grand Master Buchan intensively for about a year and incorporated all I learned into my root art. Changing if dramatically.

While I only remained with GM Buchan for about a year he generously shared his knowledge. I departed due to a different direction we both had. He was looking for expand his organization and I was not willing to be absorbed into it. I cannot give you a link to GM Buchan as it appears he is not longer teaching. He was a student of Hanshi Bruce Juchnik.

Read more from below
https://blog.kyushojitsuworld.com/news/hapkido-kyusho-jitsu-connection/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69824.27
ETH 3761.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81