How to win friends and influence people by Dale Carnegie, Part II review.

in #selfdevelopment6 years ago

Hello!

In my last blog, I've discussed the part I of the Dale Carnegie book, How to win friends and influence people. In this blog, I'm going to discuss the part two of the book that is about how to make people like you. It could beneficial for your social, business or political life you are in.

Part II: How to make people like you.

In this part, the author has discussed six principles that if you follow them people would like you no matter what. I've also applied these principles to my life and I can personally guarantee you that if you apply these principles to your life, then everyone you meet would like you. Well, I cannot exactly define these principles exactly as the author does, but I'm going to define them in my own words.

Principle 1: Be interested in other peoples

Each one of us wants that everyone we talk to should be interested in us. It really irritates us, that the person we are talking to is not making a eye contact or is simply not paying attention to us. This is the kind of thing that makes a person hate other people.

So, if you want them to like you, you have been interested in them. Not because of reason, that you want to sell them some real estate or you want to marry someone. Be genuinely interested in people and people would always like you.

Principle 2: Smile more

“Peace begins with a smile..”
― Mother Teresa

The first face that attracts a person is not the most beautiful face, but instead, it is the face that is always smiling. When you smile at someone, it only means one thing, that you like him. There is no way that you tell someone, even if you say it non-verbally.

Well, that is the power of a smile. When you smile at a person who is having a bad day, you just brighten up their day and make them happy. And it is in human nature that he never forget the one who made him happy.

Principle 3: Never forget anyone's name

Name of a person is the sweetest sound for the person himself. Even though it could be difficult to remember names of people you don't meet for months or year or even it could be that someone name is difficult to pronounce and you tend to call them with nicknames. They may not tell you that, but in deep down their emotions, they are not liking you.

No doubt it is difficult to remember the names of people if you have a big social circle, but what you can do is take time off in a day and try to recall the name of people you meet months ago.

Principle 4: Be a good listener

Each one of us is too arrogant that we just want people to hear us, but not considering that what the other person wants from us. Each one of us wants a sympathetic ear that listens to us and recognizes our self-worth. So, next time you ran into someone, don't be too eager to speak, but instead, let other people talk and listen and understand what that person is saying and I guarantee you this your conversation would end up by other person saying that you are the greatest conversationalist I have ever met.

Principle 5: Talk in terms of other person's interest

Have you ever been in a situation where you are talking to someone and your interest don't even match? I'm not sure about you but I have been in such a situation. It is really the worst situation you can be in, you don't even know hell the other person is trying to say and both of them end up disliking each other. If you don't know the interest of person then take out time and find something about that person and then talk to him, he will you surely end up liking you.

Principle 6: Make other people feel important#
Importance and recognition is the only thing why you want status and abundance of wealth. It is rooted deep in our emotion and it is the same thing that drives us every day to gain worldly status. So, it is obvious that the best thing you can do to make a person like you is to make that person feel important.

Conclusion:#
Well, I have not always been a kind of person everyone would like. But after I have applied these six principles in my life, everywhere I go people like me, because I have become a good listener and not only that I smile at everyone who passes by me. Even if you apply these principles on your own self you will get the same results as I have gotten.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98