Ponderings about Getting Attention

in #selfie7 years ago (edited)

Hi!!
I haven’t been here in a while.
If I had more engagement and feedback, I would.
Otherwise, I use my instagram and my own journal to record my journey.

Either way,
I love blogging.

I was thinking about something today as I post this picture of myself...
I never really liked being the center of attention.
In high school, I basically (thought I was) invisible.

Everyone wants to be acknowledged, known and understood.
Of course I wanted that.
But being a virgo self conscious insecure girl, I did not want to be the topic of discussion.

Nevertheless, I was talked about. This went on in college, where I really blossomed into my true self.
Being myself attracted others to me, and I became well known in my community.

I wasn’t seeking to be known.
I still liked my privacy.
I always wanted to be able to be myself, which I found hard to do if eyes were on me.
I broke through that on many occasions however. and shines anyway.

At this time in my life, I’m really into activism.
Now I WANT to be heard.
I also love to inspire, educated and connect.
So once again, there is this dilemma between having attention vs expressing the message I want to share.

I’ve thought about wearing a mask.
Using social media as a tool and only showing my mouth and body.
i’ve pinderes this, yes.
How can I be most truly myself, stand up for what I believe in, and not feel like IM the center of attention, but rather that my message is?

I can’t say that I know the answer.

452A4575-E25A-4FFF-B10E-4E12307CE3D0.jpeg

Sort:  

Congratulations @br3akingfr33! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 65619.31
ETH 2950.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73