"A Simple man who cries at the drop of a hat"


I find myself close to tears, as I greet the day. Sometimes it seems,
That it has always been this way. My mental state,
My grasp of my emotions, has always
Been Fragile at best, and now
At times, I can’t seem to
Put my fears to rest.

My tears have always flowed, quite easily you see;
The sight of a sunrise, the plight of a sick dog,
An old woman alone, walking on the
Roadside carrying bags of
Groceries in each arm…
“Where are her family” I wonder,
“Why is she alone now, at this stage of her life”?

And songs, especially beautiful music, have always brought me to
Tears; tears of joy, tears of appreciation and yes, even envy,
For those who can create such as that. Some songs
Move my ‘heart to my throat’; my breath comes
In gasps.

I might wish that all this would not be so, but in truth,
I am glad I am that,
Just a simple man, with a trembling heart,
Who cries at the drop of a hat.

"A Simple man who cries at the drop of a hat"

by
Jerry E Smith
©11/20/15



These .gifs were created for me by @coquiunlimited; many thanks



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60947.53
ETH 2913.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56