Tips on how to sell your stuff for Bitcoin

No money left to invest with?

We all have this problem, except for whales maybe. You want to invest in something ... but you also have to be able to eat at the end of the month... You are running out of money! It's time to find creative ways to earn money for investing.
Following a good tip from the Bitcoinfamily book, I started selling my stuff for Bitcoin. Curious about this book? Read the bookreview in one of my other blogs.

Looking for stuff to sell

To be honest, I thought I did not have much to sell. But once I started searching ... it quickly became clear to me that I would not get rid of my stuff with one day at the flea market. I apparently have more stuff to sell then I thought. So that was a windfall.

I was afraid that I would have to say goodbye to stuff that's dear to my heart... but fortunately I still have to sell a lot of "unimportant" stuff. It is a nice feeling to go through your house and get rid of all that useless stuff. I don't want to say that I really need everything I am keeping ... but a lot of stuff that I am keeping has a special meaning ... and an empty house isn't fun either. So I can put the painful choices aside for now.

Bitcoin adoption at the flea market

It seemed obvious to me to sell second-hand items at a flea market. So I started doing that. I went to a trunk sale. What an invention, you load everything in and out right by your car. Love it.

I thought this would be a good time to look at how many people are actualy doing something with crypto. As I wrote in my introductory blog, I often feel when I look around me out on the streets, that no one is busy with crypto. So this was a nice moment to investigate how far crypto adoption is. I made a sign that payment with Bitcoin was possible. Not very realistic considering the transaction costs ... but I secretly hoped for 1 payment in Bitcoin. Even if it was just for fun.

But unfortunately that didn't happen. Below the results of my small market research:

  • 0% had Bitcoin or other crypto (hence the 0% Bitcoin payments)
  • 2 people were very positive and wanted more information
  • 2 people were very negative and did not like it at all
  • The rest though it was fun and asked some questions, but remained a bit neutral
  • 100% of people know what Bitcoin is / has heard of it

So my feeling is quite right. What I find positive is that the familiarity with Bitcoin is very large. The actual use still requires a lot of work. Next year I will be planning another day at the flea market and see if we have made progress in the coming year. Not entirely unimportant, what did I earn? I have earned over €75, -. If I take of the cost of the trunk sale I made € 61.75. Unfortunately, I have to swap it into Bitcoin myself.

Earn direct Bitcoin for your stuff

I didn't sell everything on the flea market. And I also had some things that are not really suitable for selling at a flea market. So I wanted to sell the rest on an online marketplace. When I read the Bitcoinfamily book, I found out that there is also a Dutch Bitcoin marketplace. The nice thing about this is that you receive Bitcoin directly. So I'm going to put my stuff on it and hope that I'm going to sell something directly for Bitcoin. There is also an international online marketplace to sell your stuff. It's called Open Bazaar. You can sell your stuff (new or second hand) and receive over 50 types of crypto directly. It's an open source platform, free of charge.

Sort:  

@lifeontheblock, I gave you a vote!
If you follow me, I will also follow you in return!
Enjoy some !popcorn courtesy of @nextgencrypto!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99