STEEMIT SEO - THE ANATOMY OF THE PERFECT SEO OPTIMIZED POST (PART 1)

in #seo7 years ago (edited)

seo steemit

Introduction

If you are looking for a primer in SEO when it comes to do your Steemit.com blog, you are at the right place. I have been doing an SEO case study lately that forced me to revisit the "fundamentals". This series of posts is specifically targeted to people who wants to:

  • Drive massive amount of traffic
  • Dominate their niche
  • Become a source of valuable DOFOLLOW backlinks that people would pay for
  • Create multiple stream of income via their steemit.com blogs

This post is NOT for people who:

  • Just want to blog about everything under the sun
  • Just want STEEM payout
  • Don't blog on a regular basis

I will assume that people who want to have an SEO optimized blog will open an account from scratch to go after highly valued keywords. If you are brand new and wonder what I mean by creating multiple streams of income via steemit, read this article.

Start at the Beginning

define your niche.jpg

It may seem that what I am writing below is not about backlinks or fancy strategies to increase page authority and therefore isn't related to SEO. That would be a mistake. If you overlook these steps you are building your blog on a foundation of sand. You want the foundations of your blog to be rock solid so that your efforts yield maximum results in the future...right?.

Step 1 - Define Your Niche

Before a single word is written on your blog, you have to decide what your blog will be about. You have to decide what will be your niche. Why? Because people search the Internet for one reason: to solve a problem.

That problem may be to find find friends, have fun, or it may be to answer a question. It could be anything. But when readers are looking to solve a problem and your blog is nothing but ramblings on unrelated topics, how is your blog going to solve their problem?

Also, we want to be able to connect your posts to each other in a coherent manner so that the search engine KNOWS that your blog is there to solve someone's problem.

Step 2 - Know Your Niche

There are two part to knowing your niche.

Know the Lingo of Your Niche

In order for people to care or read your article, they must know that you are speaking to them in the language they understand. If you do this, people will read your article all the way through and consult other parts of your blog.

If you chose your niche right, you chose something you are passionate about and/or know inside and out. This part shouldn't be tough. If you chose something you know nothing about, consider going after another niche because you will have a much harder time at writing. Don't make your work harder than it needs to be.

Keyword Research

Keyword research will help you pull out all the major keywords of your niche. Go to google keyword planner and start looking for what people are looking for in your niche.

Use a note taking app such as Evernote to compile what you find.

Step 3 - Build Your Blog Architecture

Now that you know what you are blogging about, that you know the lingo and the main keywords people are looking for, you have to define how you are going to plan your work.

seo siloing.png

Your content has to be relevant in a context. Your blog may cover multiple topics around a major topic. For example, in my casestudy, I write about a little fishing town called Ucluelet.

Here are some major topics related to my niche:
1- Things to do in Ucluelet
2- Ucluelet Real Estate
3- Ucluelet Accommodations

They are in some way related to each other but most of the time, when I write I will be doing internal links to related articles within a certain "silo". Here is a brief sketch to illustrate the point:

seo architecture.jpg

The content go much deeper than that but it is just there to illustrate a point. You have to think about your blog in an holistic matter about how each piece of content relate to each other.

Conclusion

There is much more I will be covering about internal links in part 2, but this is good enough to get to work and start planning your SEO machine.

Steem On Steemians!

Sort:  

The website/blog architecture is so important like you mentioned in terms of how SEO link-juice would flow throughout the site. I did this a bunch with some of my affiliate sites back when I was doing niche websites.

Yes. It's very important IF you want to do more than get blog payout via STEEM. Maybe in the future, there will be a function to rewards steem blogposts that ranks high for keywords.

Ohh that would be a neat feature.

Simply brilliant @cryptoctopus. I do have a website to educate and assess to the Spanish community about Cryptocurrency and I appreciate all this kind of useful articles :) I'm gonna apply these steps and I'm looking forward for the second part. Thanks!

Thanks! I will keep on with this series :-)

You are a genius @cryptoctopus . I'm actually educating the Muslim community on cryptocurrency as well as brining them on board .

Great work

Your post has very good information @cryptoctopus

This brings me back to the days of trying to get my own blog up and running. I can't tell you how many hours I spent trying to create a web of links back to my blog from "active sources", all tied around a single keyword or set of keywords.

I won't lie, I HATED it and it ultimately ended up being a waste of time, as I ended up not being as dedicated to seeing it succeed as I had first envisioned.

Maybe this time will be different?

In any case, thanks for this valuable info.

at least, in the meanwhile you can get paid in STEEM. :-)

Very true. Pretty much a win-win situation :)

Plenty to absorb, thanx.

Interesting. I will bookmark this for later. I really need to look into keywords in particular in more depth.

I think I am finally getting your point on this. So much depends on what someone wants to do with their blog and how narrow that niche needs to be. I like the wide-ranging social aspect of Steemit, but that seems at odds with the SEO.

You are the exact person who came to mind for me on this topic since you do stay on niche for the most part (good job). I'm in many niches and this is going to be an issue for me, I think. I do health, social media, art and travel lol. So random but that's my life. I think I may stick with health here, but not sure at all.

Loved the way you had examples, to let people understand your thought process better. Brainstorming concepts for your blog is a great idea, so people know what you are about. Thanks again.

the article you create is very nice, I immediately understood it
Thank you to have shared @cryptoctopus

Your efforts are much appreciated but the internet is filled with these kind of things, and seo for steemit and other sites is the same @cryptoctopus

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56