Sepia Saturday in The Château du Haut-Kœnigsbourg

in #sepiasaturday5 years ago

This is my Sepia Saturday post for the challenge hosted by @old-guy-photos. Photos taken ten years ago visisting The Haut-Koenigsbourg castle or The Château du Haut-Kœnigsbourg. The castle is located in Alsace, France not far from the town of Riquewihr, picture of which you can see in my post MonoColorSepia - French Street.

Castles are always of great interest given the fact that in my country we have none.

Let us see how the sepia tone changed the photos.

Here we are aproaching the entrance. The big walls surrounded the area.

image

The castle was built on the highest point. Quite intriguing to see a windmill on the roof.

image

The building is very impressive and the view from there is stunning, which I am afraid I did not manage to capture.

image

The castle and its atmosphere have been an inspiration for film making.

At the end of the 1930s, Jean Renoir chose the fortress to be a backdrop for his film "La Grande Illusion".
During the summer of 1956, Jacques Becker filmed "Les aventures d'Arsène Lupin" there.
John Howe used it as an inspiration for the design of the 'Citadel of Minas Tirith' in "Lord of the Rings".
Japanese film director Hayao Myasaki also being fascinated by the castle and its influence can be seen in his animated film 'Howl's Moving Castle'
Source - Films inspired by the château

DQmbYFG7tEjDZdTkV366T3XhuJmfKzFJvTyMJfJSdw3nUWJ.png

Thank you for visiting.

If you like to share your thoughts you can leave a comment.

@nelinoeva






Posted with eSteem

Sort:  

Howdy from Texas nelinoeva! Oh I love castles! I go crazy when I see one so this is a fantastic post. But you have to go back! Yes we want to see the views from the top of the castle looking out over the countryside. lol.
I never thought of a windmill being on top of a castle, that's amazing!

Castles are amazing. I may have not many photos, but I will make another post about it. God knows if I will visit it again 😀

Howdy back nelinoeva! Do you get to travel to other countries alot?

Once or twice per year I was visiting some other country in Europe, mostly on business trips. I love travelling and took any chance to go sightseeing.

Howdy this fine Sunday nelinoeva! I see, that is a great way to see things, if you have to be there on business anyway! Very good. Do you still travel for work or are you doing something else now?

Hi @janton, I am still working, same place for almost 20 years. But last year I did not travel and I don't know about this one. I could be surprised and sent some place any time. It could be a traning or a meering with mates from the group companies. I work for big international company with factories and offices all over the world.

Howdy tonight(here anyway lol) nelinoeva! That is so interesting, the same company for twenty years, I think that's unusual these days so good for you. What is the name of the company?

It is morning here and I am commuting 😀
Shortly my working day will start.
The company is Roca Goup, producer of sanitary ware. The headquarters are in Barcelona, Spain.

This is got to be the most awesome castle i have even seen the views are absolutely stunning i would love to spend a couple of nights in there and it looks great in sepia color it really does it justice :)

I have not seen many castles, however this one was the biggest and most impressive. Worth seeing.
Thanks for stopping by. 😀

It would of been a joy to see i am jealous....lol :)

Congratulations! Your post was selected by the @dropahead Curation Team (dCT)

I love the way that castle looks, I wonder how the life of people who lived there many centuries ago felt like... places with that much history always drive my imagination away to past times.

Thanks for sharing those shots, best regards.


@dropahead - Supporting your STEEM adventure

Quality review by the dropahead Curation Team

According to our quality standards(1), your publication has reached an score of 88%.

Well said Gabriel García Marquez: "One learns to write by writing" Keep trying, you will soon achieve excellence!

(1) @dropahead's quality standards:

- Graphic relation to the text (Choice of images according to the text)
- Order and coherence
- Style and uniqueness (Personal touch, logic, complexity, what makes it interesting and easy to understand for the reader)
- Images source and their usage license

Thank you kindly. 😀
I am so happy you like my post. Visiting the old places as such, you feel the atmosphere of the past.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Looking for some fun games to play on Steemit? Try your luck with Magicdice

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Thank you so much!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99