You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Explained (netflix series): Could be interesting but too opinionated

in #series5 years ago

I haven't watched this but it sounds like they are scaring people about the wrong things. As far as I'm concerned you can't scare people too much about protecting their keys and keeping backups...because if you lose that, your Bitcoin is gone forever. It's not like a bank or credit card where you have some protection. As far as what some transactions may be used for, that's irrelevant. Cash is used for some pretty horrible things too after all.

Sort:  

that's actually a great point. Can counter the "bitcoins are used for drugs!" argument by saying "ok, but 98% of all drug and illegal gun sales happen in cash, do you think cash is a bad idea too?"

And that's exactly the argument governments will eventually use to force us into a cashless society...

i have several credit cards but use them sparingly and for online stuff for the most part. I was in some stores last year in NYC where you had to use credit, cash was not accepted. I coudn't understand why unless they are worried about their employees stealing or perhaps want to keep the riff raff out.

They might have just been worried about being robbed.

I actually use a credit card for the vast majority of my purchases. I have one that gives you cash back so it's like free money (as long as you pay it off in time to avoid interest which I do). I don't have a problem using credit/debit cards but I never want to be forced to. I look forward to the day when spending crypto is just as easy.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64168.03
ETH 3172.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84