Sheffield Park Bridge Gate


Gate With A View


If you read my earlier post you will know that I spent the day at the National Trust property of Sheffield Park Gardens, in East Sussex, UK.

We were looking after the grandchildren overnight so wanted to make the most of the beautiful weather and take them somewhere where they could have a good run around.

Sheffield Park Gardens was an ideal choice as it's a wonderful place to go when the trees start to take on their Autumn colours.

With @erikah's Gate Thursday challenge in mind I took this photograph.

Sheffield Park gate.jpg

It is somewhat unusual gate as it's a modern addition to an old feature. My best guess is that it is used to close off the bridge when they don't want people crossing to the over side of the Lake.

As you can see it was wide open today so we had full access.

This is the view from the bridge itself which is a pretty stone one and allows a gorgeous view across the lake to Sheffield Park House.


sheffield part bridge.jpg


The autumn colours are stunning as the leaves are just beginning to turn.

The lake was full of geese and very tame ducks which pleased the grandkids no end! 😁

All in all, it was a wonderful afternoon. 💙


More Posts From Sheffield Park:

Steepshot Autumn Fail


This is my contribution to Gate Thursday.

If you'd like to join in the Seven Day Outside Challenge these are the days and the categories:

#WindowMonday – Windows
#DoorTuesday – Doors
#RustArtWednesday – Rust
#GateThursday – Gates
#StatueFriday – Statues
#BrickSaturday – Bricks
#StreetlampSunday – Street Lamps

Use the #sevendaysoutside tag along with the daily tag and tag, @erikah!

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~


Sort:  

howdy there gillianpearce! whoa more beauty from England, you keep piling it on but we can only take so much! lol. What's the Sheffield Park House? It looks like a dang castle.

I'm not sure about the house @janton. I've never noticed it before although it's hard to imagine how I managed to miss it. 😂

It is privately owned. I know that. So my best guess it that the family have willed it to the National Trust but are still living in it. The National Trust (which I've written about in other posts earlier in the year) are currently looking after the gardens which are open to the public.

When the current incumbents of the house die the National Trust will take over the house too, although they may well already be archiving stuff with the family's help already.

This is a complete guess but I know this has happened with other National Trust properties.

Next time I'm there I'll ask the volunteers or, if I find a bit of time, I might even look it up on Google. I'm pretty sure that won't be today though. 😊

howdy back again gillianpearce! well I think it would be a nice house to live in don't you? I think I could get used to that! Thanks so much for the explanation and information.

Nice captures, and I see that you have your share of Canada Geese on your side of the world ;-)

I see that you have your share of Canada Geese

Yes. It was lovely to see them before them leave @cognoscere and it got me to thinking about when they will go.

Is it based on time or temperature I wonder? If it's the latter they will be here later than usual because we've been having glorious weather although today it has turned autumnal.

Lovely view! I would never have thought that gate was new... did I understand that correctly?

Well. When I said new I meant modern. It is certainly not the age of the bridge but I would guess it is pretty recent. There are no signs of wear and tear on it at all. 😊

New or old, either way it's very cool :)

I love it, it's absolutely amazing! Well done!

My pleasure! :)

A gorgeous gate and, oh my, what a beautiful Park! Don't you love it when the leaves start to turn? It's so pretty here right now, too.

They've only just started here @melinda010100 and a lot of trees in the park are still green. I'd love to be able to go back in a couple of weeks time but it's not likely. The water lilies will be out then too. Still . . . it was wonderful there today. I'm glad we went. 😁

Thank you gillianpearce! You've just received an upvote of 10% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

That lake looks absolutely gorgeous, what a wonderful place for a walk. Hope you took some food for the ducks 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00