You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SO YA WANNA BE A SEXWORKER?

in #sexwork6 years ago (edited)

Unsolicited idea for new post:

How would an inexperienced and/or first-time client navigate finding/purchasing the services of a sexworker in a way that would increase the likelihood of them having a positive, and safe, experience?

Sort:  

I guess that would be a good idea for a post, I could defs advise on it though I've always said I won't name the site I work at, which is all I know really. Just cos mainly they don't deserve my free advertisement ha, but maybe I just should.. I'll have a think.

Although if this is something you'd like to know personally, we can chat on discord, skype, twitter.. ;)

Thanks for the response @tigerlily321, and for the private consultation offer; much appreciated!

My suggestion wasn't motivated by my own specific desire to solicit a sex worker; but I think it would be productive to begin introducing the entirety of the business to the modern age. Right now it's viewed as a taboo subject, in many places it is illegal, and there is an abundance of misinformation, prejudices, and small mindedness surrounding it. Most people's knowledge of sex work comes solely from the popular media and entertainment industry—

—in short, they have no knowledge of it.

If the general public knew more about the experience as a whole, including what would potentially be expected of them as a client , it would make for a healthier and more pleasurable environment for all involved...

...Plus, I think it'd just be a read that people would generally be interested in, whether or not they intend to engage in paid sex or not.

Haha well, I was sure that wasn't what you meant but had to check ;)

And you're right, for something so prolific people are crazy uninformed and people don't want to talk because of the tabooness of everything. I like to keep my blog honest though, informing where I can.

I've been slightly obsessed for a while now with making my own series of mini-docs, all about different aspects of sexwork and weird things going on. I just bought a decent (I hope, bought off ebay..) camera so might actually start soon, but my laptop is a hundred years old and I've got no experience in making decent videos.

There's a documentary on BBC called Sex, Drugs and Murder.. it's a heartbreaking watch but it got slammed by the English sex workers union for being biased and only showing prostitutes as smack addict losers. I wanna go all Louix Theroux on it and make my own ha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69390.09
ETH 3783.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83