LiTTLE CHERiNE Book 02 - post184

“If they are a lot older than you, it means they have had time to develop their powers. They have succeeded in surviving in a world which is hostile to them. They may not be so easy to overcome.”






Previous Post 183


1169

“You did not need to tell me that Solomon. I am already terrified as it is.”

“And yet you wish to continue?”

“Hiding my head in the sand will not make them go away. I see you are smiling, you remember our days in the desert. Solomon, having you with, I could not ask, but since you offered, I am very grateful. I think though that your help will not be in the manner you thought. You are my ticket to meeting the leader. They may know about you and will be curious to meet you. Alone they might have thought of me as not worth bothering with. They may decide to kill me anyway and then take you to meet their boss. If so, please try to fix in your memory whatever you can. The room, the location of the house, anything that will help me to find them.”

“What is your plan now. Will you attack this Frank in his office?”

“No. They expect me to be irrational, but not suicidal. I will project myself.”

“How will they capture you then?”

“I do not know, I am certain to make a mistake somewhere along the line. I will fight to the best of my ability, if I make it too easy they will suspect a trap.”

“We are not used to this kind of thinking. I see this trip is going to be educational.” I did not laugh for he was being serious.

“Damn! We need to rent a car and I did not bring a credit card and I don’t have a driving licence.”

We used public transport and came as close as was possible to the Pentagon. I could not find this Frank guy by trying to enter the building and my only solution would be to wait for him to drive out. That way I could follow him and find out where he lives. I was now forced to call for Niko to jump. He came and we rented a small car, something that would not stick out.

We had to wait for the end of the day. Even after a large number of cars had left he did not come out. We waited until about eleven before his car pulled out. Though I could not see him, I could feel him, so we stayed a good distance behind him. He drove into the parking of a block of apartments and we waited on the street while I followed him mentally to his penthouse. His lights went on and he came to the window looking out for a short time and I knew.

“He is waiting for me. He sensed me following him.” My sense of humour got the better of me and I chuckled.

Nicko demanded, “What the hell is funny Robert.”

“I just thought, I should have made myself huge, bulging with muscles and made a Rambo style entrance, with two huge guns ablazing. They would not have expected that of me.”


1170

“Sometimes I think you are still that loony kid you were at school.”

“Sometimes I wish I were.”

Niko asked, “You’re scared?”

“Yes.”

“We can leave Robert, nobody will think the less of you for it.”

“I would only be postponing the inevitable. Niko, you better jump home now.”

“I’m staying. Robert, I’m not saying I’ll come up with you or anything like that. You may need me to drive you away from here.”

“I won’t Niko.”

“What the hell are you saying!?”

“Next time you see me will probably be back at home when I enter my new body.”

“Fuck that! Then you’re not going up there.”

I saw Solomon was watching me and his eyes were sympathetic. I though of going through the whole spiel again and could not be bothered. I sat back and closed my eyes and concentrated on what the girls had taught me. A pity I could not talk though. All I could see was a small part of his balcony so I projected there, standing by his glass door I waited.

I could see into his apartment and saw he was not in his lounge. I made my way through the glass door. As I stepped inside he appeared. He glanced at me and continued on to his bar, got himself a drink and sat facing me. I also sat down.

“I trust it was amusing enough for you? We did try to at least meet one of your requirements.”

*Killing innocent dogs is not amusing.*

“I’m sorry, I prefer to talk aloud.”

*To each his own way. You were expecting me. What do you expect me to do now?*

He gave a cold smile. “Why, are you planning to accommodate me?”

*To a certain extent, if it suits me.*

“I expect you to try to kill me.”

*That does suit me, though I will not try, I will kill you Frank.*

“Go ahead then. After that I may then decide to kill you, if it amuses me. Otherwise maybe something worse. Yes, I think the something worse part would be more amusing.”

*Now you’ve tickled my curiosity. What could be worse?*

“The knowledge that you are alive, but helpless to save the rest of your pathetic group.”

I stood up and ‘walked’ around.

*Frank, you are a cold hearted son of a bitch. You do not give a shit about being amused. If you could have done anything to me you would have done so. I on the other hand enjoy a good laugh. So why not make me laugh, let me see you try your ‘worse’ nonsense. Once your bluff has been shown for what it is worth, maybe then you’ll find out if I am bluffing or not, or maybe I just disappear and leave you to stew.*

His light brown eyes stared at me coldly and I felt a ‘net’ of energy surround me. As it tightened in upon me I killed my projection. I heard him in my mind as he swore and jumped up. I projected myself so that I appeared behind him.


1171

*Was that the worse? You planned to hold me in that net of energy? You have not been told that I am energy when I wish to be? You really will have to come up with something better than that!*

“Nobody can get out of the net!! The Master said...” he stopped aghast.

*Oh I know about the Master, that is why I came. Surely you did not think I came here to waste my time on you? I could have killed you from my chair at home. Sit down and shut up Frank, you are to be the bearer of an important message.*

I thought a moment. *Your master has seen a lot during his lifetime. I have one thing he has never seen. I want him to see it before he dies. That way he will know what his attack on my family has cost him. It will also prove to him that he never had a chance to succeed. I have allies Frank. Aliens with a civilisation older than our solar system. Their leader is here as my guest. Solomon, would you please introduce yourself?*

Solomon appeared, standing by me.

“Robert, one Sparkler alone could burn though his net of energy. Do you think he would be considerate and feed my Sparkler, it is hungry.”

Be a good host Frank and feed his Sparkler. That should also prove to you that Solomon is not of Earth.*

He was badly rattled, his ultimate weapon a thing for us to joke about. Desperately he decided to try again. Solomon released the Sparklers and they not only soaked up the energy he was sending out but forced his brain to create more for them. Finally he collapsed, that part of his brain burnt out. We waited for him to resume consciousness.

*Frank, you tell your master he made a big mistake, you would have been far better off using your own powers. At least they would have been native to your own brain. I apologise for the damage to your brain, we have destroyed all the powers you had and you will as of now be of no further use to your master.*

“I will be killed.”

*How sad Frank. I find it difficult to imagine a piece of shit being killed. How do you like the idea of Walter sitting in his home, all nice and comfy because you had to do the shit work?*

I’ll be damned if he didn’t fall for it and picture Walter in his home. I fixed the picture in my mind and we returned to the car. I turned and slapped Solomon on the arm.

“You were perfect!! You nearly fried his brain!”

“We just searched for the part that gave him his powers.”

My face paled. I stared at Niko, but he did not understand. “You could have done that to me at any time - why didn’t you?” Now Niko understood and his face went white as a sheet.

“You are Robert!! How could we?”

“Then I am indeed glad I am Robert. Does anyone feel like a big plate of food, I’m starving.”

“Here or back home?”

“Niko, there is no place like home, except when your sister cooks!”

“I would fear her if I were you after that comment.”

“Ha! Your sister knows that I live in terror of her all the time - especially of her cooking!”

We got ourselves a motel room, parked the car and jumped back home.


Perikli was there and I was touched to see that Irene was sitting by his side and he had his arm around her as they talked. I went to Irene and Diana and gave them each a hug. While I did so I delicately touched their minds and felt no damage, just a small sadness in Irene for the puppy.


1172

“Where are my special twin girls? Come here and give your old man a hug. You saved me from ‘worse’.”

“What was worse?”

“Sit down and I’ll tell you.” I told all of them of what had happened.

“The net of energy he tried to entrap me with, if I had been there in actual fact would have gone through my body. It was supposed to trap my soul. They would have then kept me captive. The body I think they would have allowed to die, it is of no use to them. I am curious, how do they use the souls. There must be a purpose to such a gift or power.”

“Roberto, I am curious, how do you extrapolate and arrive at the conclusion that the energy net was for trapping your soul? Not that I’m saying you are wrong”



Next Post 185

I hope you enjoy reading this story of fantasy, adventure and love.




Αλέξανδρος Ζήνον Ευσταθίου
(Alexander Zenon Eustace)
2nd March, 2019

* posted on Steemit: 2nd March, 2019



For those who wish to be notified of sequels
@nikosnitza
If you wish to have your name added above, I would be honoured.


The arthur.grafo Steemhost pages





Sort:  

Congratulations @arthur.grafo! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 5250 replies. Your next target is to reach 5500 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

Από ότι κατάλαβα ο Φρανκ έχασε τις δυνάμεις του...

και από ότι κατάλαβα τον Ρόμπερτ τον έσωσε ότι δεν πήγε ο ίδιος αλλά πήγε μία προβολή του ε?

Και αν κατάλαβα καλά και αυτοί οι κακοί με τις ψυχές ασχολούνται ε?

Kai sta 3 - NAI

:)

Den ehoun enosi to internet mou akoma, se dio meres isos...
:(

Και τώρα πως βολεύεσαι με ίντερνετ από το γραφείο???

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63642.15
ETH 3126.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87