Little Cherine Book 09 - BPost026

“You all proved your loyalty, what interests me is, would their guards be as loyal?”

“They will be, but out of greed and fear.”
“Not a good recipe. How many do they employ?”





If you wish to read from an earlier book, from Book 01 to Book 08, use this link button to open the LC Book Index:




Previous: Book 09 - Post 025



5851


“I’m not certain, between sixty to eighty men.”

“Too many, I cannot handle that amount.” He frowned in thought. “How many would I have to take care of to make the rest less effective as a threat?”

“You must not attack guards! We would have to leave you if you do.”

His eyes turned ice cold. “Never say that. Never!” He saw fear and anger in the eyes of Ezikel and quickly added, “You are not just my guard, I consider you my friend. Give me advice as a friend, but never talk of leaving. I have no intention of attacking anyone; it is not the way I work.” A smile lit up his face. “I was only thinking of corrupting those who are already corrupt. Surely that is not such an impossible task? Let me give you my idea and you can advise me what the probabilities of success are.”

Against his better judgement Ezikel arranged to secretly meet the eight men in charge of the guards of the gang leaders. He had no hopes of convincing them, but he was determined to do his best. Since it is the guards usually who end up paying with their lives whenever there is violence, custom has created a system for whenever two parties of wealth or power clash, allowing the guards of both parties to meet and negotiate a truce so that one more effort can be made to find an acceptable compromise. Usually a senior officer of neither group will attend the meeting as arbitrator and it is almost always successful. Kiris had asked Ezikel not to involve an officer, making it a condition that each party of guards appoint one from their group to represent them. The two men, if in agreement, would be the final arbitrators, binding both parties. It was expected that one of the eight would be chosen by the leaders of the other side. What totally mystified Ezikel was the offer he carried to them. If the eight agreed that whoever of them is the arbitrator should decide in favour of the proposals by Kiris, he promised that all eight of them would be paid a wage, in addition to the one they already receive, with the full knowledge and agreement of their employers!

All of them looked grim as they stood in a park, only the lights from a few windows and a street lamp providing enough illumination for them to see each other, while camouflaging their features from any casual passer-by. One of them asked, “Is it arbitration you seek?”

“Yes and no. I wish to speak without interruption and then I will listen to what you have to say. First of all, allow me to remind you that Kiris, my employer, is but twenty one years old.” He paused to give them a moment to consider it. “When he arrived in Rapperten as a child of fourteen, he was attacked and his clothes were stolen from him. Within months he was accepted as leader of the same gang that robbed him. There is much that is not common knowledge about him and if you or your employers would deal with him, I suggest you allow me to briefly tell you all I have learnt about him.”

They nodded. “You are wise Ezikel, it would have been foolish to give your loyalty to a child against the most powerful men in this city. Tell us of his weaknesses and we will pass on the information - I am certain you will be well rewarded.”

“I have been instructed to talk to you about him, as you say, to expose his weaknesses, by Kiris himself.” That shook them up for a moment and then they smiled, deciding that Kiris is a fool and Ezikel is taking advantage of it. Ezikel does not know everything about Kiris, but he is an observant man and he had a lot to tell them. If his narration had not been backed up by facts known to the men they would have thought he was lying. When he spoke of Kiris paying for medical expenses for the families of his employees, they nodded, rumours of his foolishness having reached them.

“Kiris believes that his offer is to the advantage of your employers, but their contempt for him because of his youth will make them emotional and they will not agree to a compromise acceptable to all. I agree with him. It is up to us to make a decision that avoids blood of guards from being spilt. Kiris has authorised me to make the eight of you an offer that I find very strange and puzzling. If, whoever is the arbitrator on your side, agrees to what is fair, his words, he promises to pay you a wage equal to what you are already earning, while you continue to work for your employers and continue being paid by them. What is even more amazing, he states that what he pays you will not be a secret and will be authorised by your employers!”

“That is nonsense! Working for a child has addled your brains.”



5852


Ezikel diplomatically smiled. “Sometimes I feel that way also. Knowing how he works, I think I can guess what he plans. I think he is starting a new business and somehow it will include your employers and your services will include watching out for his interests. As I said, I am puzzled, but I do believe him. Kiris is a thief, he has few morals when it comes to making money, but he is not a liar.”

Ezikel persisted, talking, answering questions, explaining and arguing in favour of Kiris for hours. He just plain wore them down until their confused brains could not think of any further reasons for doubting him. They agreed to do as he said after he swore that Kiris would employ and protect them if they are fired. They left to announce that an arbitration meeting has been agreed by the guards of both parties at a neutral place. Ezikel insisted it be at an upmarket restaurant as guests of Kiris, knowing that the gang leaders would feel uncomfortable and out of place, giving Kiris a psychological advantage.

Ezikel was exhausted and needed to down a few mugs to untangle his woolly thoughts, but he knew Kiris was waiting for him. He went straight to his house and reported. Kiris listened gravely, but his eyes showed he was pleased.

“Ezikel, you deserve a large bonus for the job you handled so successfully tonight, but I will not give you money. That would absolve me of my obligation to you and in both our eyes you would remain just an employee. I have decided that the loyalty of a man like you is precious and as of tonight you are accepted by me, if you wish it, as my friend. The kind of friend who visits me in my home and sometimes shares in what I am building. You guessed correctly, I have another business I am planning to start. Without knowing what it is, would you accept a five percent share?” He woke up Averis and asked him to take Ezikel for a few drinks.

Kiris did not try to make himself look older. If anything, he accentuated his youth and to his guests appeared foppish in his stylish clothes. He looked serious, hardly ever smiled unless it was obvious the smile was not real, and talked to the men in a respectful manner.

“Most of my interests lie outside your own. I have had to learn to survive amongst men who are far more ruthless than any of you, even if they disguise their fists with gloves. Like you, I am more flexible and do not run to the Law for redress, I take care of those who betray or cheat me in the same way you do.

What if one of you decided the construction business is lucrative and you go into competition with me? Should I object and send men to kill you? Why should I, when you can build a hundred houses without affecting my business? Do you wish to farm and supply the city, perhaps my own customers? We would then compete by alternately lowering our prices and everyone would benefit but us. You claim I have infringed in certain kinds of businesses that you consider lie within your territory. I think it is not true.” He raised his hand to stop them protesting. “You do not cater to the upper classes, I do. I provide the environment they are comfortable with, you could not. So, what income have I stolen from you? The odd man of wealth who decides to go to the poorer sections of the city to throw away his money? Such men will continue to come to you for they crave something I do not wish to offer - danger, drugs and women.

I believe this meeting was called for the wrong reasons. Instead of looking to compete or fight each other, we should be examining ways for us to cooperate and make a lot of money. Let me give you an example.

I was warned by men wiser than me that I should only concentrate on businesses that cater to necessities because hard times are coming. I have done so, but I am also beginning a new project that is aimed at those who have money to waste - because I think I can offer them something they need.

You will not be impressed by my idea, but within my mind I see large profits - and that is all I care about. Surely you know that the largest profits come from supplying luxuries to the very rich. A small number of wealthy families invite me to their homes and, unlike the other men, since I am still considered a boy by them, I often listen to the wives talking. Do you know what they consider is their biggest problem? Boredom!



5853


I have purchased a property where the rich live that has an immense garden. The place is run down, so I got it at a reasonable price. A section of the garden is being converted to a playground for children. Within the house and at various parts of the garden I am placing tables and chairs. If you have not guessed what I am planning, let me put it in simple terms. I am creating the most luxurious meeting place for women and their children. I will employ young women to watch over and play with the children while their mothers meet their friends and gossip.

The key to the success of the business is that I have to be able to guarantee the safety of the women and children, whether they employ guards or not. That is where you come in. I will pay eight of your best men a wage, in addition to what you pay them, so that they organise a team to watch my customers and see that they visit and arrive back home safely.

In return for your guarantee of safety, you will be paid a share of my profits. I think fifteen percent would be fair.” He smiled at their looks. “My prices for refreshments will be extremely high and I can assure you, your share of the profits will be higher than you earn from most of your businesses.” He sat back. “Perhaps you can think of other opportunities where you need my services and offer me a share in your businesses?”

He’d made his opening bid and he was shrewd enough to realise that was all it was. They argued for hours, but his precise way of thinking, coupled with his grandiose ideas confused them and soon had them arguing between themselves. Some of them thought it might be worth trying out his ideas for a while to see how it works out, if he ups their share to thirty percent, while others only concentrated on forcing him out of the gambling business. That was when they had to allow their two guards to arbitrate and find a solution. The guards voted in favour of giving Kiris one year to prove that all parties can make more money by cooperating, settling the share at twenty five percent. Anyone not accepting their decision would have found themselves without guards, so, reluctantly they all agreed.

Out of curiosity, we followed the gang leaders when they left and were amused to hear them shouting at each other, none of them understanding why they had lost the argument. There was the general feeling, though they did not admit it even to themselves, that they had just created a monster who will soon become their master and it frightened them.

Cherine withdrew for an entire day, walking and thinking by herself. By the time she returned to us at the taverna, everyone was curious as to what is going on. She used her healer to refresh herself, sipped at her coke and then knocked us off our feet with her decision.

“I want a team made up of at least one Cherine and four other females to take over the job of monitoring Nericha all the time. You must protect her, but the most important part of your duties will be to slowly influence her. She must learn to feel empathy.

I hope four of the Akiards will agree to join me as my guards and co-conspirators on planet. I intend living there until I have achieved what I want.

Dominique, you will take my place here and I trust our Cherinians will respect my wishes and treat you in the same way they treat me. I need at least five hundred kilos of gold, in ingots. Can the Unation ship help mine the gold for me?”

It was not necessary, from the mining Robbie has done, there is at least ten times the amount of gold she wants. We used our minds to turn the ingots into small bars, according to her request.

Cherine had to agree to at least another six people, chosen by a draw, from family and fellow-Cherinians, going with to help her. She smiled her funny smile and agreed. When asked what she intended doing there, she only admitted she wants to become friends with Kiris. Everyone looked at everyone else with a knowing look that said, ‘I know, she plans to manipulate him in some way’. We all hoped it meant she was planning to get our Robbie back.



5854


Goldi chose her name for her. Tserika Iz Stillafart. Saying it quickly had us in stitches. Because we have not laughed for a long time we went overboard with everybody trying to think up funny comments. She grinned at our foolishness and when we settled down again she agreed to be Tserika, but asked for a new surname. After the laughter I suppose it was only natural that we cried when it came time for her to leave. With her brave Akiard warriors proudly standing by her side (carrying the gold), they jumped to an area where the other six and horses waited for them outside the city.

Tserika and her retinue made a big impression as they rode through the city to the Golden Eye. Two males had ridden in ahead of her and arranged suitable rooms for them. She wrote a note and an Akiard delivered it to Rakil. It did not take long for Rakil to appear at the inn. Though they had their meeting in a public room, with her ten companions and his guards ringing them, they had privacy.

“I am a distant cousin of a family that lived here. I am told that all of them, apart from their daughter Nericha, are dead. I intend finding and caring for her. I wish to deposit my gold with you for safe keeping. As I will need to purchase a large house in the best area, buy carriages and other necessities, I will sell to you one tenth of my gold. Can you buy it?”

Rakil was in shock twice over. He only knew of one Nericha and he was troubled that this fine lady would be interfering with Kiris and incur his wrath. He had long since guessed from watching them at home when they relax, that Kiris and Nericha are lovers. He did not think Kiris would take kindly to Tserika interfering, and since she claimed to be family and is a female, he took it for granted she would. The amount of gold she wanted to sell was enough to cause him problems also. On the other hand, if what she wrote in her note was the truth, she had enough gold to buy all the power she wanted; it would be foolish to gainsay the opportunity to make her his friend.

“My lady Tserika, if I try to market that much gold it will depress the market, reducing the price. One half of what you suggest will be enough to meet all your requirements for more than a year. I will release it slowly so that the market is not affected.”

Tserika shook her head. “No, I will be requiring a large sum in cash to buy a couple of the more solid businesses available. I do not like sitting on my hands with nothing to do. Can you not arrange for some of the gold to be sold in other cities?”

“Give me a few days to check a few possibilities discretely. I know a few men who would buy gold for themselves if you agree to a small rebate. In the meantime I will arrange for an amount to be brought to you to cover your expenses. If you need more, please let me know.”

“What about my cousin? Can you suggest a local investigator to find her for me?”

“I might be able to help you there, give me a day.”

She smiled and his heart felt as if it stopped. He had never seen such a smile on a female and it enchanted him. “I’m in your hands. Master Rakil, I hope we are to be friends.”

“Not ‘Master’, please, just Rakil if we are to be friends.” He gave her a smile. “I will be the envy of all men if you consider me a friend.”

Rakil sent a guard to his office to arrange for the transfer of funds while he rushed over to Kiris. Breathlessly he gave him all the details - keeping the amount of gold she carried confidential, but mentioning she is perhaps the wealthiest person in the city. Kiris did not even ask if she is young or old, pretty or ugly. His head swam with thoughts of what he could do with her money and he immediately began planning how he would woo her. Then Rakil mentioned her interest in Nericha. His face grew hard.

“If she is a relative, can she apply to the courts successfully to take her from me?”

“If she can prove she is related.”

“I will not allow it Rakil.” Nericha had also become afraid, her heart stopping at the thought of not being with Kiris. She looked at him when he spoke and he was shaken by the sudden adoration he saw in her eyes. Without realising he spoke, he emphasised, “Never!”



5855


The next day Rakil called on Tserika with Kiris while Nericha waited in the carriage, surrounded by guards. Tserika made them wait half an hour.

“Rakil, what a pleasant surprise! You have brought your son with?” She pretended not to notice the way his face tightened. “Yes, it is obvious, he has your eyes.” She turned to Kiris. “I am glad to meet you, what is your name?”

“K…Kiris. I am not his son.”

She put her hand to her eyes (as we would put our hand to our mouth) in dismay. “Oh, I have put my foot in it, I am so sorry.” He was puzzled by her reference to her foot, but fought his angry feelings and smiled.

“It is of no import. My friend Rakil did not warn me that I was to meet such a beautiful lady.”

“Uhh, my lady, I brought Kiris with for a reason. You asked me about a child named Nericha. This young man found her a few years ago, struggling to survive on the streets and took her into his home. He has grown to care for her and was pleased to hear that she has family and asked to meet you.”

Cherine is turning into a real little actress! With an amazed but happy look on her face she exclaimed. “That is unbelievable! I never expected to find her so quickly! Rakil, you are a miracle worker, thank you.” She grasped the arm of Kiris. “Was she harmed in any way while she was on the street?”

“She was malnourished and afraid, but not harmed in any other way. She is waiting outside in my carriage. Lady Tserika, what do you intend? Are you hoping to take her from me?”

“You wish to keep her? How extraordinary! How do you survive Kiris, are you able to afford all a girl child needs?”

“Kiris is a self-created man, despite his young age and already is considered one of the most successful men in the city.” Kiris flushed with pleasure, but his eyes remained riveted on hers, trying to guess what she intended.

She spoke softly, “May I meet her?”

Nericha was not relaxed, afraid despite the outburst by Kiris, so she stood stiffly as Tserika tried to embrace her. “I am pleased to meet you m’lady.”

“Tserika or even Tseri if you like, my dear cousin. You are very pretty! Come, sit by me while I talk to the men.” She leant over and whispered to her, “Your Kiris, he is good looking.” That was nasty of her since she could feel that Nericha thought she was beautiful. Now Nericha forgot her fears and became afraid of losing her Kiris to this lovely and sophisticated woman. She knew that Kiris would be drawn to her upper class ways and money and felt very insecure. Tserika pretended not to notice her anxiety.

“So Kiris, tell me what you do.”

“I own a small number of businesses…enough to survive.” Rakil and the guards chuckled.

“I do not know why he is being so reticent with you, usually he is proud to tell everyone of his accomplishments.” Kiris gave him a side glance, but did not comment. “Allow me to tell you what I know about him.” Tserika patiently sat through the long narration, exchanging an amused glance with Kiris or Nericha now and then. Her amusement unsettled both of them.

A light lunch was brought to them while Rakil continued talking. Kiris only corrected him a couple of times, but he watched for her reactions when Rakil spoke of his violently punishing Sibark. She only nodded.



5856


“I presume you felt you had to make an example of him because of your youth.”

“What has my age to do with it? Any man tries to cheat me, even fifty years from now, I will not allow him to go unpunished.”

She nodded again, her eyes cool, almost disinterested, making her next words even more shocking. “Kiris, how do you think your father would have reacted to what you did? Would he have approved?”

Everyone was taken aback when Kiris reacted almost violently, his voice a furious hiss. “What right would he have to judge me, his foolishness allowed his family to be slaughtered. I did not see even one body of a stranger, he let them kill my mother and sister without fighting for them.”

Tserika turned to Nericha, “Child, you have failed him; you did not see the pain, the reason for his anger?” She stood up. “I have some urgent matters to attend to. I would be grateful if the three of you would join me for dinner tomorrow evening. Have a nice day.”

Kiris was angered by her parting shot at Nericha but, even worse for him, he was confused. He always found it easy to read people and Tserika had remained (or become) an enigma he could not unravel and neatly categorise. He took his anger out on Nericha by not reassuring her, leaving her to worry. His preoccupation with Tserika, his inability to discuss anything else as he fretted and analysed her, inflamed the insecurities that were eating away at Nericha and she slept alone that night, wanting to weep on her own.

“The merchants delivered the manure for the gardens, but it has not been correctly treated and stinks. What should I do?”

“Remove it and demand they deliver as promised.”

“It cannot be removed, they spread it over the lawn and flower beds.”

“Bring the man who contracted to supply us to the gardens within half an hour. Ezikel, come with me.” Everyone tried not to look at him as he stormed out of his office, his face livid.

The man who’d supplied the manure was a small trader and did not have any guards. He arrived with his two adult sons. Kiris was standing in the centre of the stench and with obvious worry the man and his sons walked across the lawn to meet him. Before he could speak, Kiris ordered them, “All three of you, get down on your knees and lick all this shit of yours off my garden! Do not stop until all the smell is gone.” The guards quickly surrounded the family and waited.

“It was a mistake, the correct load is already on its way here.”

“I am not interested, how would that help? It will take months to get rid of the stench. You have ruined my business and cost me a lot of money. Get down on your knees and start licking or else I swear you will never work again, I will destroy you.”

“Please sir, we will…”

“Tell me who paid you to do this to me or start licking.” Ezikel gave a start, the answer obvious to him now. “This was no accident, or do you claim that those who spread this shit over my garden have lost their sense of smell?”

By now workers had gathered around and they too were angry, seeing their jobs lost because of these three. The guards formed a line to stop any attack on Kiris, but left the three to the mercies of the workers. One of the sons panicked and told the truth. Though the son was bigger and stronger than Kiris, he grabbed him by the neck, his fingers digging into the delicate folds.

“We are supposed to open in three weeks. How do I get rid of this stench?”



5857


“It will need a lot of water to wash it off the grass. Once it is gathered in bare patches of soil we can remove it. We might have to place fresh soil over the entire garden.”

“And have my customers walk on mud or dust? Find another solution.”

There was no other solution and Kiris accepted he had to postpone the official opening. We could understand Kiris being angry, but did not find his reaction acceptable. After he allowed the workers to beat them up he took their business away from them in lieu of damages and then sent out a warning, through his old gang members, that anyone employing any of the three will be destroyed by him. The last we saw of the three was when they left the city with their wives and children.

For once Kiris allowed traditional methods of justice to be applied. Since the truce had been brokered by the guards, the gang leader who had caused the damage found himself without the protection of guards. Kiris was told he should wait and watch. By damaging him the man had damaged the others who were party to the deal. Any gang leader is also bound to have many enemies who will rejoice at the opportunity to attack with impunity. Within days his body was found and his organisation and assets were taken over by the other gangs. They thought it funny and sent to Kiris, as his share of the spoils, a child’s toy, a miniature wooden sword. Kiris sent back a message that made the few thoughtful ones shake their heads. It said, ‘Thank you for the toy sword. I accept it as a symbolic gesture meant to remind me that I never need to fear, for I have the swords of my allies to back me.’


Tserika immediately sensed that Kiris was trying to disguise the foul mood he was in. She touched the back of his hand and asked him with sympathy in her voice, “You have had a difficult day?” He told her what had occurred and she thought about it for a moment. “I wonder…I have an old remedy that just might work. Would you like me to try?”

“You are serious? How can anything rid that mess of its stench!”

“My secret.” She gave him a small smile. “If you want me to try, you must guarantee me total privacy. If anyone spies on me I will walk away.”

“I agree. Why would you trouble yourself for me?”

“You are taking care of my little cousin. We don’t want her suffering do we?”

“I’ll see to it that you are alone in the gardens tomorrow morning.”

“Would you mind me sitting alone with Nericha for a while? We won’t be long.” They moved to another table and her ten made certain nobody approached them.

She kept her voice very gentle for Nericha. “You are worried. Is it because of me?”

“A little.”

“You fear that I might take you from him or that I might take him from you?”

Nericha was startled, but she responded honestly. “Both.”

“Are you happy with him?”

“Yes.”

“I don’t think you really are, but I’ll accept your answer for now. Nericha, I do not enjoy playing ‘mother’, I have my own life to live. If you are happy with him I will not interfere. However, if you need me, come to me without any doubts. We are family and I will gladly give you a home.”

“Thank you.”



5858


“Shall we address your second fear now? I’m not interested in Kiris as a man, he is too young for me - do not tell him I said that, it will hurt him. I also have a man that I love and I miss him terribly. We cannot be together for a number of years, but I will wait. That is why I need to find something to keep me busy. I hope Kiris and I can work together without it frightening you.”

Her sudden relief made her reckless. “Have…have you been loved by your man?”

“Yes.” Tserika instantly realised her error. “He was very careful since he could not wed me yet.”

Nericha giggled, the first time we’ve ever heard her do so. “Every time we are invited to somebody’s house the women stare at my flaps, searching for scratches.”

“Next time tell them they would do better to examine your heart.”

Nericha realised she had let the cat out of the bag. Fearfully she asked, “Please don’t tell anyone I said that.”

“Whatever we discuss, from my side at least, will remain a secret. Nericha, I knew from yesterday that the two of you are lovers. It is none of my business, only your happiness is.”

When Nericha returned to sit by him looking happy, Kiris was puzzled but not perturbed. He was lost in his thoughts when Tserika spoke to him. Nericha nudged him and he apologised.

“I asked whether you have any new projects in mind for me to invest in.”

“Projects I can always find, it has always been the funding of them that has held me back.”

Rakil chuckled. “Not that I’ve noticed. My lady, I think our friend Kiris is determined to own the entire world before he becomes an adult. That is a strange thought. Legally he is considered underage, a minor with hardly any rights and yet he has already achieved more than most adults and yields power over thousands of lives. The entire city knows him and watches every move he makes.” He shrugged. “I respect his abilities and usually forget his age when I become immersed in a conversation with him. Once he finds the time to read a few books and broaden his outlook on life, he will be a remarkable man.”

Tserika did not allow the conversation to return to business and by the time they parted Kiris had relaxed and made a few jokes. When they arrived home he demanded to know what Tserika had said to her and Nericha told him most of it. He felt that somehow Tserika had managed to confuse him further, but he responded to the joy in Nericha and that night they both made love with a passion born out of their past fear that she would be taken from him.

There is one cultural difference between the Kabetu and our species that is important. They do not have weekends. They work less hours each day than we do, but they do not seem to need a day off now and then. They do have national holidays, but they are only historical, not religious. They have not reached the level of sophistication for holidays that celebrate social issues (that does sound funny to me).

When Tserika called Kiris to examine his garden, he was astonished. Not even the faintest whiff lingered and there were no unsightly brown layers over his lawns. He was so pleased that he told his workers to take the rest of the day off and go to a tavern to celebrate. He refused to divulge to his workers how the problem had been solved and Tserika was amused, knowing he was trying to reinforce an aura of his being invincible and able to find an answer to any problem. She did not mind as, in a sense, he had found a solution to an impossible situation; she was just the tool he used.

“Why don’t we all take the rest of the day off and have a…(she realised they did not have a word for ‘picnic’), a few sandwiches and drinks out in the garden. I would enjoy sitting on the lawn and chatting.” Kiris would have gladly done anything she asked, but he quickly stopped Tserika from going to the kitchen to prepare the sandwiches, aghast at the idea that a lady like her would do such lowly work.



5859


At a moment that Nericha was being teased by Averis, Tserika whispered to Kiris, “Why don’t you do this alone with her. Talk to her and I think you will be surprised at what an interesting mind she has.” When the opportunity presented itself she confidentially said to Nericha, “It is the role of a good woman to reach into the soul of her man and make him aware of finer feelings, such as compassion and empathy, without him realising it.” Happily now she relaxed, her work done for the day, and enjoyed herself, passing funny little comments to us as we monitored her.

I suspected that Cherine is intent on staying close to Kiris as often as possible in the hope that some part of Robbie will sense her and gather himself together again. If she was disappointed as the weeks went by and her link to him showed no change, she did not let us feel it. She kept herself busy, first by being very particular about the house she wanted to buy. With the excuse that she is being shown houses, she came to meet a number of people and her social life expanded to the point where she sometimes wished she had an evening to herself.

Kiris had paid the newspapers to write articles about his new venture, stressing the security he has in place and describing it as an exclusive and fun place to be seen. He has also six carriages for returning his customers home if the husband cannot pick them up. We thought he showed a singular lack of imagination when he named it ‘The Mansion’, but the name soon acquired a popularity that defined it. It seemed that every time families visited each for the evening the wives, when leaving, would say, ‘See you at The Mansion tomorrow’. Within days the staff were reporting that a number of the women were complaining about having to travel so far and asked why they could not have a Mansion closer to their homes. Since The Mansion was situated at the one extreme of the good suburbs, it meant that some of the customers had to travel a long way. Kiris immediately began searching for suitable property on the other side of town. As for his ‘silent’ partners, they were given hints as to the daily takings and now, more enthusiastically, they saw to it that the word spread that anyone attacking a customer of The Mansion would be killed.

Tserika had to be very careful that she did not let slip any ideas that would alter the local way of life. I think she worried without reason, Kiris seems to be doing that on his own very successfully. To tell the truth, though I know that Cherine is never wrong on such matters (to do with her links) I could not help feeling that Robbie is affecting Kiris. If he is not, then it means that Kiris is more of a genius than I credit him with being.

Kiris had what seemed a casual chat with Tserika about the theory Rakil had advanced regarding the boom-bust cycle. He asked her what she thought of it.

“It makes a lot of sense…”

“I don’t see why.”

“I can only repeat what I heard during family dinners. I have lived through two such cycles and they do happen, Kiris. May I change the subject and speak without hurting your feelings?” Wary now, he agreed. “You grew up on a farm. May I presume that you did not have much schooling?”

“There was no school close to us. Our mother taught my sister and I to read and write. She used to get angry with us if we did not learn our arithmetic, as she used to say we have to learn to calculate what we must be paid for our produce.”

“You never learnt to enjoy reading books?”

“While I lived on the farm, no. Since I’ve come to the city I have been too busy.”

“Kiris, you are aiming for the top, you say you want to be a Council member. Those people are usually wealthy, but are not involved in trading. They have all had a good education and when they socialise, they do not discuss business, they discuss theories that you have never heard of. If you want to be accepted by them and your peers, you must set aside time for learning. I suggest you also enrol Nericha in a good school if you want to be proud of her when she is with you at social functions.”



5860


“I’ll give it a try. Can you suggest any books?”

“I’ll go one better and suggest you get yourself a teacher. He will know what you should read and help you understand what the writer is really telling you. As you learn he will steadily choose books that are more complex.”

“I cannot do that! People will laugh at me. You choose some books for me.”

She pretended to sigh. “Alright, but you must see that Nericha also gets an education. Her ignorance is shocking.” Tserika enlisted Averis as her aide. She explained what she is trying to achieve and he agreed to help her choose books that Kiris is capable of learning from.

“I am pleased you are having such a good influence on him. I’ve tried to interest him in subjects that will broaden his mind, but he always refused. He only listened when I taught Nericha how to behave at formal meals because he does not want to embarrass himself. Tserika, he has an exceptional mind and it is a pity he is starting so late.”

“Have you considered the possibility that he has an exceptional mind partly because of all he has suffered and his ignorance? I think you will be proud of him if he takes it seriously. Find books that will excite his interest.”

Two months passed without Tserika finding a suitable house. “Kiris, I am tired of looking at houses. I will rent the best I can find, but in the meantime we must find a house with a large garden to buy. You will have to tear down the house and build another house to my requirements. Please see to it that you only use the best materials because the house will belong to you and Nericha when I leave.”

“Leave? Where would you go? Are you not happy here?”

“I’ve made some good friends and I am happy, but I will have to leave someday. This city is not my home.”

“Perhaps if your house is a home you love, this city will become your home? I will build you the best house ever.”

As Tserika set out her requirements to the designers (no local word for architects), it became obvious she was planning what we would call a mini palace. There is nothing like it in Rapperten and will make an impression - and probably change the way mansions are designed for the extremely wealthy.

Tserika had not been presented with any deals that she approved and when she sensed his levels of frustration were at a peak, she made him an offer. She did not want a share in any of his businesses; she wants a share in Kiris and Averis. That stumped them, so she had to explain.

“Rather than invest my money in a particular business, I would rather invest in both of you. I want a third of whatever you own. Give me your net profit total income per year and we can calculate from that what you are worth. I will take it a step further. Estimate what growth you expect over the next two years from your existing business interests and allow that to be added to current values. Whatever a third of that comes to is the amount we use to calculate your price. The calculation is simple. Double it and that is what I will pay in cash to become your partner in present and all future businesses you own. I do not wish to be involved in management and will leave you to run them as you see fit.”

They had never heard of such a proposal and the concept excited Kiris. With such a massive influx of capital he could double the business and he was quick to calculate he would be far wealthier, even at sixty seven percent of his future worth. It is not in his nature to accept the first offer, however generous he may consider it; he just has to explore the possibilities of getting just a little bit more. He asked for triple and they settled on 2.4 times his value with thirty percent for her. Averis also agreed and they set to their calculations with great excitement. Within a week she was a partner.


Next [Book 09] - Post 027



I hope you enjoy reading this story of fantasy, adventure and love - and should some of it be true for our reality, I hope you will love our Cherine.





Αλέξανδρος Ζήνον Ευσταθίου
(Alexander Zenon Eustace)

4th March, 2020

  • posted: 4th March, 2020




    If you wish to read from an earlier book, from Book 01 to Book 08, use this link button to open the LC Book Index:





If you are not using it, try it, this is the best Steemit tool:
https://steemworld.org/



Sort:  

The Steem blockchain is currently being attacked by a central authority in order to take control of the witnesses. If you are not managing your witness votes, please consider setting @berniesanders as your witness voting proxy by clicking here to help restore the decentralization of Steem.

As far as I can see, I am being attcked by a bot that belongs to @berniesanders and I cannot help wondering, a person who flags me now sets a bot on me to convince me to give him my witness vote?

I've given a proxy to a witness I trust, so you are wasting my time with your bot. Please concentrate your attacks on Justin, not me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68403.29
ETH 3749.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66