You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Shadow Photo Contest-Round 56 - Line Shadows. Shadows on graffiti in St. Petersburg. / Тени на граффити в Питере.

in #shadowphoto5 years ago

Great post and those are fun murals! The line shadows are perfect for the contest! Do you think that mansion is a private home? It is lovely

Sort:  

Thanks you!
It was built as a private mansion. There lived a theatrical figure A. Molchanov and his common-law wife, actress M. Savina. In Soviet times, the mansion was requisitioned, it became a multi-family residential building. It seems now, too.

I have not seen any of his films or her films. . I should add one to my list!

Oh, no-no, no films. I did not write, this is the house of the early 20th century. Molchanov and Savina are people from the 19th century. :)

Ahhh, of course. I looked up A. Molchanov and this guy came up..... Aleksey Molchanov (II)
Actor and one of his films was The Postmans White Nights. I should have realized it wasn't the same person, but didn't pay attention to the date of his films.

It is interesting that this particular film was found. I can not confidently recommend it. And I can not say that for me this is a favorite movie. But it is rather unusual. It is made at the intersection of documentary and feature films. It shows the daily life of a simple Russian person living in the outback.
But the film is very measured, meditative. We can say that nothing happens there. And it can be boring.
But there are beautiful tranquil landscapes of the Russian north. And ordinary people, most - not actors, including the main character. They really live like that.
Famous Russian director Andrei Konchalovsky shot the film. Sometimes he works in the US.
I decided to write, suddenly, you will be interested.

It sounds like an interesting film.. Thanks for your critique of it. You should do a post on Russian films that you would recommend that the rest of the world watch. I have seen a few really wonderful ones but I often miss so many others I'm sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62996.10
ETH 3122.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88