The Resignation Letter

in #shadywriting4 years ago (edited)

love-letter-1285404_640.jpg

"What we fear doing most is usually what we most need to do." -- Tim Ferriss

This quote has reminded me of the time when I wrote the best and worst letter of my life. It was a resignation letter I wrote in mid-2018 informing my Director that I was stepping down from the leadership role and teaching position. I had a heavy heart typing those words and I cried all through the night thinking whether I made the right decision or not.

But I would like to explain first what led me to make that pivotal decision that would have a great impact on my career.

Migrating from the Philippines, I considered myself truly blessed to be able to work as a Registered Teacher both in my home country and in Australia. I knew that there would be a long process just to be able to get all the teaching qualifications I earned in the Philippines to be recognised here. It wasn't all fun and games. I needed to be fully committed, otherwise, forget pursuing this ambition. I also knew that when I started to apply for recognition of my teaching credentials back in 2013 that there would be a higher chance that the Teacher's Registration Board might reject my application, that I would still need to study for a year or two in an Australian university to become a teacher.

So whilst waiting for either approval or denial of my application, I enrolled in a trade school and took up a vocational course, which was Certificate III in Aged Care. During this time, when I was almost finished in my Aged Care course, I received a letter from the Teacher's Registration Board of South Australia with an acknowledgment that the Bachelor Degree in Education I earned in the Philippines was equivalent to the Bachelor Degree in Education in Australia, therefore, I could be registered as a teacher as soon as I gave them the proof that I passed the International English Test. I complied with my requirements and paid my registration fees, and after two weeks, I received my registration papers. In spite of that, I still finished the vocational course since I had already started it and completed the 6-month course as well as the 2-week placement in a nursing home facility.

In February 2014, I applied in a Christian private school as a relief or substitute teacher and was accepted straight away. I had become part of this school community and I couldn't be happier to be employed in such a healthy work environment where everyone was supportive and encouraging. It is the best workplace I have had in my life.

For two years, I worked as a teacher in this private school. It's a primary school from Early Learning Centre to Grade 7. I held various positions such as Relief Teacher, Library Teacher, and Out-of-School-Hours Director. Aside from it being a healthy environment for me, the salary that I received every fortnight was also gratifying, in comparison to the salary I used to get back when I was a high school teacher in the Philippines. Teachers back in my home country are unfortunately well under-compensated.

In 2016, the Director of the Early Learning Centre of the school offered me the Teaching Role in the ELC, which I gladly accepted. I did not even think twice. I would rather work as an ELC Teacher than teach the higher primary school levels. However, because my actual qualification was Secondary Education, I needed to enrol in a Diploma course in Early Childhood Education and Care. So that's what I did. I was able to work as an ELC Teacher since I had proof that I was working towards getting a qualification in this area.

Two years later, things had changed with regard to the policies. For one to be able to qualify as an ELC Teacher, he or she needs to be enrolled in a university taking up Bachelor in Early Childhood Teaching and not just taking up a Diploma course. So whilst I was taking up my Diploma course (I didn't want to quit the Diploma since I had already started it), I enrolled at Charles Darwin University to take up the course. However, I chose the wrong course. Instead of taking up the Graduate course straight away, since I already finished a Bachelor Degree course, I still took the undergraduate course. I spent money on this course when I could have just used it to finish the Graduate course. In the end, I quit university without even finishing it. I decided if I wanted to upgrade my level, then I would finish one course at a time. I chose the Diploma course.

This led me to that day when I decided I would just rather step down from the leadership and the teaching role because everything was just too much and too overwhelming for me. Was it pride and ambition that led me to this predicament in the first place? In my resignation letter, I said that I was resigning from the teaching role and position and my last week as an Early Childhood Teacher would be Week 10 of Term 3. Even though I stepped down from that role, I still chose to be employed in the same school department but of course not having the leadership role. I expressed my intention to continue to work as an Early Childhood Educator instead.

I further explained that this decision would help me focus my time and energy to perform as an Educator as well as work towards finishing my Diploma course. The university degree that was required of me to gain full qualification as an ECT was taking a toll on me at that moment, and I said I just needed a break from it. However, when I would be mentally, emotionally and financially prepared, then I would plan to resume my graduate studies instead.

I thanked my Director for the opportunity and trust that she had given me to work as a Teacher at ELC and for her support in my decision to resign from this role and for allowing me to continue to work as an Early Childhood Educator starting Term 4 of that year.

At that time, when I was swamped with huge responsibilities and obligations, such as work, studies, church, and personal life for that matter, I was also overcome by fear, stress and anxiety. I did not want to step down from the teaching role. I feared that it would have a huge impact on my career as a teacher, but I knew at that moment when I finally came to that realisation that I could only do so much, it was what I needed to do the most.

Yes, it was the worst letter I have written in my life, but eventually, I realised that it was actually the best decision I had done for my career. I am still a Registered Teacher, which means I can still work in any grade level, but I chose to continue to enjoy having less responsibility in the Early Learning Centre because I could give my undivided attention to the children in my care. I could come home to my husband and also spend more quality time with him because I did not have to bring my work home. And lastly, I was able to finish my Diploma course last year, just in time before I could give my one hundred per cent focus on my pregnancy.

rsz_transparent.png

This is a freewrite exercise using @shadowspub's prompts:

Quote of the Day: "What we fear doing most is usually what we most need to do." -- Tim Ferriss"
and
NonFiction Prompt: "What was the best/worst letter you ever received or wrote?"

evlachsblogshootingstar1.png

evlachsblogta.png

Top Image Sourced from Pixabay

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 67205.80
ETH 3112.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71