My recent trip to Shanghai - CUCIBF III conference

in #shanghai5 years ago

Recently, I had the pleasure of being invited to speak in Shanghai. The topic: Blockchain and its potential in Islamic finance.

I was a graduate of the International Islamic University here in Malaysia. I studied my bachelor's degree in law and a postgraduate diploma in Sharia law. So I was glad to be invited to speak on the topic.

The China-UAE Conference, also known as CUCIBF III, was held in the Grand Kempinski Hotel in Shanghai. It was jointly organized by a number of bodies from China and UAE, including the Hamdan Bin Mohammad Smart University (HBMSU), the China Islamic Finance Club, the UAE Ministry of Economy, Dubai Islamic Bank, Dubai Islamic Economy Development Center, and others.

It opened my eyes to the fact that Islamic Finance is a $2.4 trillion industry. And halal industry is $2.5 trillion in value. Every year.

I was privileged to listen to knowledgeable speakers on the potential of Blockchain in Sukuk (Islamic bonds), China's One Belt One Road, and Smart Cities. In addition, there were presentations on the role of Islamic finance in Private Public Partnerships, business education, and responsible and universal banking.

IMG_20181106_164754.jpg

Here was the welcoming team. They greeted all the guests at the hotel entrance and made us feel at home.

IMG_20181109_120851.jpg

Here I am with Dr Ali Wang, the co-founder of China Islamic Finance Club. With us are Dr Sofiza Azmi and Dr Ali's son.

I had met Dr Sofiza some years back, at another conference. What a pleasure it was to see her again.

IMG_20181108_141602.jpg

Here I am with Dr Yahia, who wrote "The Art of Islamic Finance and Banking". He owns a community bank that practices RF Banking. Depending on who you are, RF stands for Riba Free (Muslims), Ribit Free (Jews), or Responsible Finance (everybody else).

He was a very nice man. Very fatherly.

IMG_20181107_154602.jpg

Here I am with Prof Nabil Baydoun. I owe the opportunity to him. I'm grateful that he contacted me. He is the Vice Chancellor of Academic Affairs at HBMSU.

IMG_20181108_140602.jpg

I managed to get a shot with Dr Mansoor Al Awar, the chancellor at HBMSU. He joked that he could be considered the CCO ... Chief Celebrity Officer. That made me smile!

IMG_20181107_131820.jpg

I also took a shot with Mr Chen Lei, the founder of Xunlei Blockchain. It's one of the biggest Blockchain companies in China.

IMG_20181107_132429.jpg

Ms Huang Lei is the CEO and founder of the China Islamic Finance Club. I was told that she's among the 100 most influential women in Islamic Finance. Wow.

IMG_20181107_172229.jpg

Here I am with none other than the backdrop for the registration counter.

IMG_20181107_161616.jpg

I met Mr Khalid Howladar, the Chief Strategy and Risk Officer for Blossom Finance. They're putting Sukuk on the Blockchain.

IMG-20181107-WA0011.jpg

Here I am. Delivering my presentation.

IMG_20181107_113848.jpg

Ing. Alberto Germani is the Technical Director of PMF, which focuses on project management and finance. I enjoyed listening to his talk on PPP financing.

He's very experienced in building railways.

IMG_20181107_214318_HHT.jpg

Some of the fellow presenters invited me to join them for dinner on the first day of the conference. It was my first time to try Turkish food.

Here we are in the Turkish restaurant called Efes Restaurant. With me are Hani Abbas, Ahmed Heikal, and Omar Al Ansari.

Hani and Ahmed are from the Dubai Islamic Bank. Whereas Omar is from the Dubai Islamic Economy Development Center.

Great ambiance. Great food. Great company.

IMG_20181108_232543_HHT.jpg

The next night, I went out with some of the presenters again. Here I am with Hani, Ahmed, Dr Yahia, Dr June, Prof Fauziah, and Yaxin.

Yaxin is a PhD student from Universiti Sains Malaysia. Prof Fauziah is her supervisor, and the Dean of the School of Management.

IMG_20181108_183902_HHT.jpg

Ahmed is really tall! Either that, or I'm short...

IMG_20181106_183841.jpg

The Oriental Pearl Tower looks really lovely in the night sky.

IMG_20181106_193144.jpg

I took a walk along the river, and came across this nice bridge.

IMG_20181109_112918.jpg

A nice couple helped me take this photo.

IMG_20181109_112815.jpg

They also helped me with this one.

I'll post more photos in the future if there is time.

The trip was probably the highlight of my year. I'll remember it in the years to come. It was a nice experience for me.

If I forget, or lose my memory, at least I have a memory aid... Steemit will store this blog post on the Blockchain.

Sweet memories live on the Blockchain.

Sort:  

Congratulations @kevinkoosk! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @kevinkoosk! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60918.56
ETH 2919.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56