Some Beautiful Shells Found Along The Beach

in #shells6 years ago

cover.jpg

A couple of weeks back we had some prolonged bad weather down here in Florida. It is just the cost of living in such an area. Quite a few industries were not very happy about having all this rain. While I did not have the greatest effect on the local economies it also had a wonderful side effect. The oceans turned a bit and the coastlines were washed anew with some wonderful finding of shells! Sometimes in life, you just have to take a moment and appreciate what nature has to offer. Like a rainbow after a storm or better than normal shells littering the beaches to be found.

largeshell.jpg

This shell is about 2/3 the size of a closed fist. It is quite intact for its size and it was vacant when I found it. It is going look wonderful on a shelf after I’ve cleaned it up a few times. The birds had not gotten to it yet to check for anything inside. No cars along the beach back over it and destroyed it. In well over a decade of looking for shells, I’ve not seen one this nice for its size.

shells2.jpg

Quite many where unhappy when the prolonged stormed rolled in. The roofing industry, for instance, was set back by weeks. You would think they be happy with a storm but they could also not work and quite frankly they already have more business then they want for this time of year anyway. As such, they were not pleased with the weather we had. I’m sure now they are just too busy now to head down to the beach and enjoy nature’s free gift.

shells3.jpg

Florida has a large population of elderly people living here. It’s a decent place for them to enjoy the sun when it shows up, beaches, and some decently cost of living. There are lots of places sets up to take in their business and to cater to their wants and needs.

When it rains they tend to stay indoors and not spend money or travel. As such quite a few industries where not happy about the rain as there early bird specials, senior discounts, and other deals where not being taken.

Yet, many of elderly population have grown wise enough to know after the rains to enjoy the beach. Maybe you will find some shells like these as well. You have to get up early to beat them to the gems of the sea! Thankfully most of the tourist are still sleeping the daylight away in there hotel rooms to not even notice.

shells4.jpg

Quite a shocking amount of these spiral style of shells I have no idea of their official name was laying around on the beach. Most had been found by other creates and one can only assume lunch was had. Others seem almost quite old and just have eroded by time itself. Being kick up by the storm and brought in to be seen.

shells5.jpg

One of the things I love about shells is they come in a wide range of colors, shapes, and have different textures. They had a life before you had found them. They will last so long they could have another life well after you have stopped using them. It’s hard to find one that exactly similar to another one while just searching for them along the coastline.

The best part about finding your own shells is you are not overpaying like tourists are in the shops. They were free provided by nature and just some of your time. They don’t have silly things painted on them like the shop's name, the town’s name of where you bought them. These are just no-nonsense by human hands just pure nature.

shells6.jpg

This shorter life post from me was prompted with a conversion I had the other day with @oleg326756. He had found some sea glass and other stuff and shared a photo of it in. His photo is much better than mine! Seems I still need work out on how to take some better close up photos. I took around 50 photos of the 80 shells that where found. Quite a many of the smaller but more colorful ones where to blurry to even make out what they where! These were the best of the best. Sorry, they are a bit blurry but here they are I hope you enjoyed.

Have an amazing weekend everyone. Get outside and enjoy some fresh air. Maybe you as well will find something special left behind by nature for you to find.

Information

Photos taken by @enjar using a Photosmart M627.

enjarcatsig.png

Sort:  

I am amazed at the variety of shapes and colours of the shells that you found, @enjar!! Mother Nature is such a creative designer…

The smaller shells reminded me of the similarly-shaped chocolates that I like, mmm… :)))

Hehe with a little extra crunch in the bite of those :)

Isn't it absolutely amazing to go on a hike after a storm, flood, even between the switch of seasons to see the effects it has on mother nature. I posted a article about three months ago you may enjoy going over some of the photos I shared of what my favorite park looked like after a major flood. Some pretty unusual pictures in that bunch.

https://steemit.com/landscapephotography/@sunlit7/nature-hiking-the-landscape

nice, that must been a very fun day for them. They could get all muddy and it was not there fault!

Oh believe me, we've been grounded by the Queen Mom before....lol, I think she just decided to give up...either that or wise up, now in the spring of the year when I say we are going to nature hike a flood she knows that means put on old shoes, clothes and send along dry, clean spares. lol. Most times I'd say kids have way more fun playing in what mother nature throws at us then actually playing with toys.

I love the whelk shells 💜💜🐚 they are the large round ones you weren't sure of. I too live in Florida 🍊 . I found your post because anytime someone uses the tag shells i get notified 🧡 . I was born and raised on the island of maui in Hawaii 💜⛰ i have a big collection of shells myself. I gave u some aloha for your post and will be looking forward to seeing more of your posts.
What beach did you go to?

These where found down in Daytona Beach.

It must have been amazing growing up in Hawaii! I have never been.

When did u find these? We have never found shells on Daytona beach? We go to venice and find loads of shells and shark teeth.

Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a to get your post resteemed to over 72,000 followers.

Those are some beautiful shells. What really drew me into this post though...are your descriptions of the shells and your history and connection with them. Walking along the beach and collecting these treasures sounds like a gift in itself! Maybe a macro filter or lens would help clear up your photos? Most digital cameras and phones have a macro mode too. <3

Also stopping by to say that you have been featured and curated for MSP Community Curation: Top Five 'Positive PAL Posts' - Week #23

https://steemit.com/community/@creativesoul/msp-community-curation-top-five-positive-pal-posts-week-23

POSITIVE-PAL-THUMBNAIL

I do need more practice with that camera. Camera itself is around 10-12 year old so it has a software zoom and increased flash option. It gave me a plant icon when I took them so I think it was trying to do something for those photos are they where a smaller mb size than normal.

Overall I think it mostly needed more light in the photo than I could give it. Indoors or outdoors was not enough for that time of day I think. Otherwise these where just to small for it. It seem to catch some very well but not others.

Was tempted to hold back the post and try again at a later date. It was mostly towards a follower and I have a folder already full of blogs I need to get around to on top of everything else. I thought we both would have forgotten about it months from now when I gave it another try.

Thanks again for picking my post, have a wonderful day :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95