You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I Gave Reading Trending Page Feed A Try

@enjar

I came back to the post to read it because its title made me wonder whether I had been missing something. Clearly not. It's a pity. It's a real pity because it was exactly that page and my disillusionment and the "quality" (i.e. shitposts) and finding content that piques my interests, that made me disappear from Steemit for nearly 6 months. Until @jaynie hauled me into PHC. For which I am forever grateful.

On the issue of engagement: I have been following one particular account whose owner often posts thought-provoking content on which I comment. I think I've commented on at least 10 of his posts. Not once has he acknowledged them. Upshot: I no longer follow the account and it no longer gets my measly vote or comment. His loss and someone else's game.

On the downvotes, I take @nickyhavey's point on board, but I've yet to exercise my downvote. I've not come across something that I think is worthy of that, unless it's been a comment from a whale and then I'm just NOT going to get caught in a flag war - again. If I come something that doesn't resonate or I don't agree with, I just move on - no vote, no comment. Unless of course, I am moved to say why I disagree and give a different view.

Finally, and it relates to the last point and you've noted this in one of your comments: content creation takes time - even "proper" comments. That seems to me to be what the shitpost "labelers" don't get.

My 2c worth
Fiona

Sort:  

The way I see it now since HF 21, if you aren't willing to downvote, then you shouldn't be willing to upvote. This is a different mechanism than just Web 2.0 social media because you have a stake in the rewards pool by virtue of having steem power.

Can you honestly say to me that everything we see on trending is genuinely worth what the value shown? Seems all we need to do is make a steem post saying how happy we are with "newsteem" (terrible marketing term btw)! Maybe one other non steem post will make it but how often is that going to happen?

What needs to happen is turning off anything that gives automatic upvotes and go truly manual with it all. Then that's true trending and manual curation (finding a way to curb upvote rings is another issue but will become apparent).

Finally, regarding downvote wars and all that stupidity, as you have said in another comment, you were blogging before steemit, you will continue blogging after it (especially now they are taking away content creator rights/original links). It will basically be another blog if everything gets downvoted to 0, except you have a WordPress site that is yours 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

The way I see it now since HF 21, if you aren't willing to downvote, then you shouldn't be willing to upvote. This is a different mechanism than just Web 2.0 social media because you have a stake in the rewards pool by virtue of having steem power.

I hadn't thought of it that way. Thank you.

On the trending page: I've not looked at it. Perhaps now I shall. I only curate manually and try not to let my VP go much below 80 which means that even a 50% vote is worth something. I haven't tested the autovote options post HF

And on this:

you will continue blogging after it (especially now they are taking away content creator rights/original links). It will basically be another blog if everything gets downvoted to 0, except you have a WordPress site that is yours 🙂

spot on!

When I was newer to the platform I spent so much time on commenting. I had comments that took hours to write that would be more in depth and longer then the posts I drop them on sometimes. Most would have gone out and just made that a post and called it a day. I on the other hand wanted to contribute to the conversation. Not try and get some extra upvotes which we see more times than not.

One day when those that put in the effort start attracting attention from the outside world people will start to grasp the potential those people have. While the reward pool is great some seem so focused on only earning from it at any cost they are not building much of anything for a future years from now.

These slow times and the struggles times are when it’s best to build that foundation you can for something. When things grow you want to be able to build on it and not worry about the foundation cracking or moving. That is something I think some people are not seeing or perhaps they do and they themselves don’t see themselves rising to that next level.

Well, I have just spent the best part of this morning - about 3 hours on comments. I don't always but the comments are on posts that are raising important issues. For me and the blockchain.

And -

These slow times and the struggles times are when it’s best to build that foundation you can for something. When things grow you want to be able to build on it and not worry about the foundation cracking or moving. That is something I think some people are not seeing or perhaps they do and they themselves don’t see themselves rising to that next level.

This is exactly it. I've taken the long view.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59585.77
ETH 3002.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78