Man Stuff - Shoe Shining

in #shoes6 years ago

I recently shined up a pair of shoes I wear frequently to work. My shoes are not fancy or expensive, but they are practical and decent looking.

Before Shine:

A39FED2F-2D7B-40ED-9C1B-6668B9880747.jpeg

5E04179A-A7D1-4A34-9E00-B9DEC1F6FA47.jpeg

After Shine:

A8225681-DDFA-43C6-AEF7-830ABDEEA566.jpeg

6D2096CC-EAE0-4E1A-BDE3-829FFA0E79BA.jpeg

In my opinion, some gents can take analyzing shoe appearance too far by over emphasizing the importance of having immaculate shoes or judging others by the way their shoes look, believing them sloppy, lazy, not detailed or unprofessional if their shoes are not shined to a high gloss buff.

While I feel this is going too far, I do believe it is important to take care of your things and have a professional appearance when you are in a professional environment. Proper maintenance is practical as well and can prolong the life of a pair of shoes by moisturizing the leather, waterproofing them and helping fill dings/scratches, all while restoring the original look of the shoes.

I was not taught how to shine my shoes, but there are a number of good tutorials on the internet, and shoe shining kits are relatively inexpensive these days. I have also paid to have my shoes shined at different times in the past, and watching a professional shine them up is also a good way to learn.

Shoe shining is a chore, but a worthwhile one for me.

Take care,

Brian

Sort:  

Wow that’s actually a big difference! Good quality leather shoes are expensive, so it only makes sense to take care of them. Besides, shoes like that usually take a little while to break in, so having to buy a new pair and go through the break in process again is never fun!

Very true... nothing beats a pair of comfortable shoes that look good!

At least your shoes looks used. Meaning you've been places and done stuff. Mine is in the shoe rack collecting dust and probably will be use on a rainy day :D

I love those shoes! They can be used with business clothes or with jeans. I got some (in brown) for my husband who loves them because they are so comfortable to walk in when he is commuting to work. I so understand what you are saying! It's well worth taking good care of shoes that you like so well so that they will stay good as long as possible.

I like to put water-proofing on my husband's as soon as I buy them so they don't get water stains when he walks around in wet grass or puddles in the street and so that his feet stay dry. I love using the Mink Paste the best.

That’s great and thank you for the tip... I will check that brand out!

I like shining shoes

Hey. Good post man. Those results are pretty good. I recently had to find a way to shine my shoes for a friend’s university graduation. My shoes looked faded and old, but a good shining makes the difference in appearance sometimes

I think you will make a good shoe shiner. I personally do not dwell on sirious shining of my shoes, but I ensure they look neat at all times. I follow and upvote you.

Good post bro :) keep going like this :) can you follow me

Congratulations @brian.rrr, this post is the tenth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 1180 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $9850.54. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

I love all your posts @brian.rrr, I'd love to get in touch with you, you can screw through my blogs, some of my posts needs up votes. Thank you

Black the shoes after back in Polish
wonderful it @brian-rrr

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57791.14
ETH 2962.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67