Short story - Prayer without efforts

in #short-story6 years ago (edited)

SHORT STORY - PRAYER WITHOUT EFFORTS

PicsArt_09-15-12.06.46.jpg

It's 7 a.m in the morning already and the clock alarm had rung severally before stopping. I was so lazy to get up from my sleeping bed. oh no, not again, here comes the thought of how the semester exams would be knowing that the semester is already coming to an end and I'll have to read to pass but still I'm not the reading type, I never liked reading anyway if not only for sports articles.

It was almost time for today's activities, I had polished my shoes, washed and ironed my clothes yesterday in pursuit for tomorrows activities so as to be in school 10-15 minutes before the teacher would come in for his period.
I was from a Christain Background, my father was a well mannered religious man who got married to a well trained religious woman also. They had brought me up in the way of the Lord and I'm proud to be called a Christian.

Growing up as a Christian, I got to believe that prayer was the only key I needed to open all doors and breakthrough.. I had watched my father prayed countless times without number for the sick and they become healed, for doors of opportunities and many doors were unlocked, for mercies and he was granted.

Today's lecture was quite an interesting experience. The teacher taught about" Efforts " which he said " its a vigorous or determined attempt or technical it is a force exerted by a machine or in a process".
He gave many examples and illustration and finally called it a day for today's activities.

I set aside reading table for myself hoping to cover some pages before the exam would approach. I tried and tried more often but each time I try more harder, I doze off intentionally with the hopes of my prayer as a key to my examination success.

Ignoring the fact that I had an examination to write, I played video games from one variety to another, interacted with my neighbors and also had my quiet time not forgetting to commit my examination into the lords hands.

images (1).jpg

Finally it's here, the long awaited examination has come. I was pretty confident and comfortable with myself knowing that I have nothing upstairs to offer.
We were all seated and the examiner had announced his rules and regulations with instructions pertaining the examination.
The exam scripts were been shared to everyone and the examination started.

The examination had come to and end, all candidates filed out of the hall sharing the experiences they had in the exams as usually. The results were expected to come out later in the evening by 5p.m .

I ate nothing for lunch as I was Patiently waiting for my result. I had fallen asleep unknowingly but jerked up quickly as if I was called by someone.
How on earth?, it's 5.30 already, knowing that the results for examination was out. I quickly rushed to my computer system, logged in to my school portal and while it was loading, I optioned in for some prayers.
After the quick short prayers I opened my eyes and saw the rewards for my fruit of labour.
I had failed wolfly, I became angry with myself and emotional heartbroken for my failure.
Whose to be blamed?, Myself for not reading? or Gid for not answering my prayers?

Remember the way you lay your bed so you shall Sleep on it.

Sort:  

Congratulations @lilkeszi! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62937.86
ETH 3092.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87