Immersive Theatre at Liverpool Pride

in #shorts6 years ago

As I arrived I was treated to a scene between a homeless couple. The man was worn skin hanging on bone with more than half of teeth still remaining. The woman was the same except with a bad dye job. They both wore coats too big for them, hiding and obscuring body figure.
It was like a scene in a romance film. They lay down in their sleeping bag nest by the entrance to Liverpool pride. They were drinking, being merry, and in love to the sound of the joy of Pride in the background.
Later I bumped into the couple again many streets away. They were working a job together to get more $ for cider. Cracks were beginning to emerge.

As I left Pride I was treated to the break up scene. I couldn't have avoided it. She left the nest. The arguments had reached their limit. She darted across the street and walked just in front of me in the same direction, as she delivered her lines (never blocking herself to the audience). What a show.
I thought it was over. There were two other short scenes before the break up scene that I can't be bothered to type up, so it had been quite a performance.

I enjoyed a cider at the side of the road. There was a street man about two metres away from me. He was just looking for change from people, so was very neutral.
And then POW! The big finale. The homeless man from the ex-couple appeared on the other side of the road, shouting in my direction, delivering his lines. The epilogue. Who he is, what he was doing, what he stood for. The closure to the story. He knew the street man two metres away from me, giving closure to the story in an immersive way. A horrifying story with a horrifying closure and no resolve for peace of mind.
Immersive Theatre at Liverpool Pride I tell myself.


@RiskDebonair
Irish Writer, Poet, & Lover

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69849.38
ETH 3709.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73