A Way With Words

in #shortstory6 years ago

IMG_20180106_180441_261.JPG

There's a man pissing on our fence and I'm supposed to notify my brother but not today. The short fashionable woman struggles with our gate and finally gives up, she looks up frowning as her eyes catch me.
"Aren't you Aunty Doctor's child?"
I just continue to stare at her overly made up face, she would have been fairly good looking if she didn't frown so much.
"You are, you have her eyes", she concludes, "where's your mommy?"
I glance at the pissing man but he's gone.
"Can't you answer? Where's your mommy", she yells in disdain.
Aunty Doctor wrapped my daddy in a blanket last night and went to the hospital. She cried because he wasn't answering her, even though his eyes were open. He must have been really sick because she cried alot, I wouldn't know how sick, I'm only seven.
I want to tell the upset woman all this but I'm now staring at her shoes. She hisses and is about to leave but my mother drives and parks in front of our gate, I run downstairs to hug her and as she holds me I look at her eyes. Our eyes. They look like they have no more tears to cry.
"Aunty Doctor I've been asking about you, she didn't even answer me, didn't say a word", the woman complains, eyeing me.
"If she did it would have been a miracle", my mother answers tiredly, "she was born dumb".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66149.24
ETH 3015.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73