Retreat ceremony on India Pak border

in #shortstory5 years ago

I have a wonderful memory of going to the retreat ceremony in Ferozepur India - Pakistan border with my late father and family . I was barred from the retreat ceremony as i was wearing shorts . The commandant had recently ordered that those in shorts cant visit the flag retreat ceremony . I think it was 2011 and i just couldnt make head and tails of this order . I accepted it as divine sign that the lord has been kind and let me go in peace to enjoy the natural beauty of the area . I had gotten myself ino birdwatching and a beautiful lotus pond had caught my eyes .This area is also where river satluj enters Pakistan , so i imagined rich biodiversity next to the river .
I wished my family the best to enjoy retreat ceremony and walked off to the pond unaware of the dangers that lurked near the pond . As i walked to the pond , i saw that there was a tank standing by . Intrigued and unalarmed I just walked to the tank with idea to see the river side . Little did i realise that i have walked into an army camp . I was soon surrounded by military personnel who were not very happy that i have just walked in to their camp. They were like Hello who are u and what ur doing here . I said i was not allowed to go into the retreat and i decided to walk here . They were not pleased at all and the absence of identity card on my self didnt help my condition as well . Immediately the Captain showed up with menacing and trying to intimidate look. I shared my biodata to the captain and he was quite enamored by doctor from aiims bit , this one always work . He was thinking now am i stupid pakistani spy or really a AIIMSONIAN on a nature walk. Almost all of India either wants their son to go to AIIMS or IIT , that must have been captains dream at one point as well. Captain made me sit down , offered me tea and biscuits . He said ur now our guest , we will take you back to the retreat and have a chat with ur family to check ur story since u have no papers . He inquired as to why i dont have any papers , I had recently lost my wallet , along with it all the documents . I said on this planet everything is good till u loose ur papers . I think it was probably the sweetest tea i had in my life , and voice within me said these guys have such a shitty job . I just walked into their camp , if it would have been terrorist with nefarious plans , he could have walked off with a tank . Drinking the tea i had started feeling the immense stress in their life , day in and day out . I couldnt help but remember that it wasnt few years ago that the civil war had ended . Many unaccounted dead were still lying in the satluj bed behind me . Man that tea was sweet , i can still feel it in my mouth . As the retreat ended my retreat also ended i was packed into a gypsy and taken to the parking area . As my family arrived The captain inquired my father about his id and about me . My father very kindly handed over the documents and thanked the captain for taking care of me . I was handed over and salutes were made .

Sort:  

HELLO @sunnysandhu. may i talk to you i have something for you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61673.68
ETH 2904.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63