Showcase April - Thoughts from a doctor's waiting room

in #showcaseapril4 years ago
I broke my nose. I broke it for the 6th - 8th time in my life - I don't really remember how many times I've broken it, I just know it's been at least 6 times.

IMG_20180927_152740763.jpg

That's me right after the surgery
I know, how dare I upload that horrible picture. Well, I wanted to clickbait you, you know me

Fights - never started by me but always finished - in bars when I was younger; playing contact sports where a broken nose is something normal; accidents I've been involved in - I've broken at least 10 bones in ten different accidents; these are just some scenarios where I've ended with a broken nose throughout my short - or long? - life and so far I was able to ignore the fact I needed surgery.

This time it was different. This time after that basketball hit my nose I realized I couldn't postpone the inevitable. I couldn't breathe anymore. At all.

It turns out my nose was broken in so many parts and my septum was so diverted and full of callus from the previous times, that this ball to my face managed to actually make it impossible for me to breathe properly.

Oh yes, I became a mouth breather - Stranger things reference, got it? No? Ok :(

Anyway, I had to operate my nose and I'm going to be around three months wearing this little bandages and having to go to the doctor for weekly cleaning sessions for at least one month.

IMG_20181001_164506159_BURST001.jpg

That's me a couple of days ago. I look better but still quite swollen... :/

This was supposed to be an introduction to my writing session of random thoughts I get while waiting somewhere and damn, it just became a story about my broken nose.

Forget about that, the point is, it was broken, I fixed it, I'm ok after all.

Do you know what else is broken?

My heart.

It breaks my heart - this is a figured speech, obviously - to see so many people shilling other platforms - or should I say Steem clones? - just because they are not 100% happy with the changes the hardfork brought to our platforms.

I get it. Other platforms are going to keep emerging and there's nothing wrong with exploring our options and actually investing in other coins/projects. After all I don't think it's smart to go 100% all in in just one coin, it's cool to diversify our portfolio.

But what I don't agree with and actually find despicable is to talk trash about steem and shilling other coins or platforms while jumping in another ICO bandwagon just because you don't agree with the changes the Hardfork brought.

I have to say, I fully agree with the new dynamics and rulebook the HF introduced and I completely trust the user experience and the overall platform health will improve.

This situation actually gives me a chance to just remove people from my "support list" and you know what? There are a lot of whales besides me who think the same. Why should we support people who take advantage of the HardFork negative parts -yes, of course it wasn't all candy and flowers, I know that - to shill another Steem clone or talk shut about steem.

That's just not the way to go. That's my opinion and perhaps it's biased, but I'm fully convinced of it and I highly doubt I'll change my mind but, as always, I'm open to listen to everyone's opinion.

I don't want to keep bashing on the detrimental opinions and those who speak them, I just wanted to make a statement, after all you know I have strong convictions regarding our Blockchain and I try to never keep quiet about important matters that affect us all. I can't change most of what happens around me but at least I always have a strong opinion about it.

Right now I'm waiting for the doctor, I'm supposed to get my weekly cleaning session where he sticks a mini hose and he suctions everything inside my nose and I feel my brain is being raped. After that, he'll use some weird small tweezers to tear the crusts inside my nose and any dry mucus lying around in my nose walls.

Sounds beautiful huh? Imagine experiencing it first hand. Lovely.


This post was originally posted in October 2018 and it's part of my initiative called showcase April, where I'll post the best content I've done over the past three years.

Sort:  

I need too to rummage through my annals. Great idea!

May God protect you

Could be a good time to switch to a 3d-printed titanium nose.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66149.24
ETH 3015.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73